Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Turkey Database: ProQuest Results

Results Page

top of search results page

1. From the top of the ProQuest results page, you have the option to edit your search strategy through the Modify search link or you can make changes to your search in the search box. 

2. Click Recent searches to view your search history. You can also view your search history by clicking on the Clock icon at the top of the main navigation bar. If you select any items during your search session, those Selected items will be stored in the Folder icon that is accessible from the main navigation bar (next to the Clock icon). 

3. Use the Save search option to save the search strategy to your My Research account. For more information on My Research please see the My Research page of this guide. Options include:

  • Create alert sets up an email alert that you schedule and when new records are added to the database that match your search criteria, the records will be emailed to you. 
  • Create RSS feed sets up an RSS feed on the search strategy. Take the URL that is generated and put it into your RSS reader to begin pulling in records. 
  • Get search link generates a persistent/durable URL to the current search strategy. This link expires one year from the day you created the link. 

In addition to using these features from the Results page, they can also be used from the Selected items list and through the Folder icon. 

4. If your organization has access to ebooks on the EBook Central platform, you can choose to search those books alongside your ProQuest platform databases. When selecting the databases to search from the main database list within the ProQuest platform, choose Ebook Central. If your search strategy matches up to any ebooks available in your EBook Central collection, this tab will display those books. You can then click on a book and you will then be taken to the book in Ebook Central. 

5. Select items individually or select all items on the page. Click Selected items to view your selected records list.

6. Hover over the Source type icon for the source type of the document. For a list of all source types available in your results, see Source type in the Applied filters panel on the left side of the results page.

7. The Cite tool generates a bibliography. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy. You can also Email or Print any selected records.

Save records to a bibliographic manager like RefWorks or New RefWorks (subscription and account required) or Save a copy of the record to one of the supported file formats. Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account. 

 

Results page - sort and filters

 

To the left of the results page and records, you'll see the option to Sort and use Applied filters.

8. The Sort menu controls the sort order of the records that appear in the results page. Relevance is the default sort order, but your administrator can choose a different default order. Relevance is determined by an algorithm that factors in the number of time your search terms appear in the record as well as where in the record your search terms appear. Other possible sort options include oldest first and most recent first.

 

9. Use the Applied filters section to apply additional limits (also known as filters or facets) to refine your results. The limits are pulled from the list of available indexed/searchable fields that appear in the current result set. Some of the main limits you can expect to find (each search and database is different so you can expect different limits to display) include source, publication title, subject, language, and date.

Please see the Searchable fields page of this guide to see a list of the common indexed/searchable fields. For a list of database specific searchable fields, please see the applicable database LibGuide.

 


Results page - bottom of page10. At the bottom of the Results page, Other searches to try displays related and suggested subjects that you may consider searching on if you are dissatisfied with your current search results.

The suggested subjects are related to your current keywords and pull directly from the subject field.

11. You will also find the page Navigation here and the Items per page option to choose how many results appear on the page.