Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

The Vogue Archive: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of The Vogue Archive including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Vogue Archive offers nine (9) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or fashion item. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:

  • Author
  • Company/Brand
  • Designer
  • Editor
  • Fashion item
  • Material
  • People pictured
  • Photographer/illustrator
  • Section editor

For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the advanced search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Fashion Item and Company/Brand are listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Anywhere

      

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “All fields +text” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(Modigliani)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author*

AU

 

AU(Stein, Gertrude)

AU(Steinem, Gloria OR Capote, Truman)

AU(Pearl Bailey)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  Use the “Look up Authors” browsable list to find the correct spelling and format of an author’s name.  Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Caption

CAP

CAP(Versace)

Search an image caption exactly as it appears next to the image.

Color

COLR

COLR(Blue)

Searches on the Color of the apparel or item in the image

Company/Brand*

BCO

BCO(Mercedes-Benz) 

BCO(Christian Lacroix)

Search for company, designer, or brand names of advertisers.

Contributor

CBTR

CBTR(Beaton, Cecil)

CBTR(Annie Leibovitz)

Use this field to search for contributor names in captions (i.e., makeup artists, hair stylists, and stylists).  Contributor’s names may also be found in the  credits of an image, article, etc. Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Designer name

DEN

DEN(Christina Hutson)

Used to search for the Designer for the apparel in the Image

Document Feature

DF

DF(Photograph)

Use to search for features within an article: cartoon, chart, diagram, illustration, infographic, logo, photograph, and table. (Note: Articles always appear in the viewer starting on the first page of the article, yet the document feature searched for may be on a following page, so use the page navigation in the toolbar to ‘turn’ the pages.)

Document Number

AN

AN(879311098)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Text

FT

FT(“Yves St Laurent”)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(“Society in Novels”)

TI(“Red Carpet” OR Red-carpet)

TI(“Vogue Pattern Department”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article or locates the title of the article in its entirety.

Document Type

DType

DType(Advertisement)

DType(Letter to the Editor)

Use this to find specific document types: advertisement, article, contributors, cover, fashion shoot, fiction, index, letter from the editor, letter to the editor, masthead, poem, and table of contents.

Fashion Item

FASH

FASH(Denim)

FASH(All-In-One OR All-In-Ones)

Locates images of the fashion item or detail, type, or descriptive element of the item being advertised, displayed, or worn in the image (i.e., type of collar, seam, material, etc.).  Selecting Fashion Item from the Advanced Search drop-down menu will provide a Look-up menu for all indexed Fashion Item terms.

Image keyword

IKW

IKW(nodel)

IKW(flowers)

Searches on the Image tags associated to the Image

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(00428000)

This database only indexes the American VOGUE, thus there is one indexed and searchable ISSN.

Issue

ISS

ISS(16)

Use to search the issue number of a resource. Use in combination with a Volume (VO) search for more specificity.

Journal Subject

JSU

JSU(“Clothing Trade—Fashions”)

The American Vogue has been assigned four specific Journal Subjects: General Interest Periodicals—United States, Beauty Culture, Women’s Interests, and Clothing Trade—Fashions.  A search for any of these will produce results from all indexed records.  Because of this fact, utilization of this particular searchable field is most useful when cross-searching The Vogue Archive database with other ProQuest databases.

Magazine Editor*

ED

ED(Josephine Redding)

ED(Wintour, Anna)

The American Vogue has had only seven Editors-In-Chief in its more than 100 year history (in chronological order): Josephine Redding (1892-1901), Marie Harrison (1901-1914), Edna Woolman Chase (1914-1951), Jessica Daves (1952-1963), Diana Vreeland (1963-1971), Grace Mirabella (1971-1988), and Anna Wintour (1988-present).  Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Material

ML

ML(Canvas)

Searches on the material of the clothing or apparel in the image.

Page

PG

PG(6)

PG(4-10)

Searches for the specific page or page range.

Person pictured

PER

PER(Piper Perabo)

Searches for the person pictured in the image.

Photographer/ illustrator

ILL

ILL(Hilary Walsh)

ILL(Lord Snowden)

Searches for the photographer who took the picture or illustrator who drew in the image.

Product Name

NP

NP(Coco Chanel)

Use to find advertisements or articles about a specific product.

Publication Date

PD

PD(Dec 17, 1892)

PD(Dec 1892)

PD(Dec)

Use this field to search for dates of publication.  Be mindful that over time the publication changed from a weekly to a twice-monthly publication cycle in the 1910s, and finally to a once-monthly publication cycle in 1973. Thus the official publication date changed from inclusion of a day, month, and year to only the month and year.  (Note: The first volume and issue of the American Vogue was published on 17 December 1892.)

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Vogue)

This database only indexes the American VOGUE, thus there is only one publication title indexed and searchable.

Publication Year

PY

PY(1978)

PY (1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years.

Retail Information

 

(“Sweater, about $100”)

Sourced from the “In This Issue” section of each issue, this field searches more details about featured items, retail sources, price, etc.

Tags

TAG

TAG(corset)

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Trend

TD

TD(Tailored)

Searches for the trend of the clothing or accessory in the image.

Volume

VO

VO(35)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.  Use in combination with an Issue (ISS) search for more specificity.