Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

The Vogue Archive: Sample Searches

A guide to all aspects of The Vogue Archive including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Search The Vogue Archive

Please note that the widget below will only work if you are authenticated to The Vogue Archive.

Links to The Vogue Archive

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to The Vogue Archive.

Sample Searches

Below are several examples of search you may wish to try in order to familiarize yourself with the search and browse capabilities of The Vogue Archive

Please note that before conducting a new search, you should click "Clear form" to remove previous search terms and limits.

1. You are studying the rise of iconic fashion brands such as Chanel and Christian Dior in American fashion and you are looking for articles, photo shoots, and advertisements:

a. On the Advanced Search page, use the first drop-down menu to the right of the first search box to select "Company/Brand."

b. Use the Look up Company/Brand list to search for "Chanel" and "Dior," selecting Chanel, Christian Dior, and Dior. 

c. Select the OR Boolean operator from the "Combine terms with" section below the A-Z list, then click the Add to search button immediately to the right.

d. Clicking the Add to search button will return you to the Advanced Search page, where you will click the Search button.  

e. The results that appear will be sorted by default by relevancy.  Use the Sort results by drop-down menu to the right of the results to to sort the results by Publication date (oldest first) if the default is not already set as such. 

 

2. You would like to explore the first issue for which Anna Wintour served as Editor-in-Chief:

a. On the Advanced Search page, use the first drop-down menu to the right of the first search box to select "Magazine editor."

b. Use the Look up Editor to select Wintour, Anna (1988-) from the list that appears.

c. Clicking the Add to search button will return you to the Advanced Search page.

d. Use the Date range drop-down menu in the "Search options" section, select "Specific date range" and enter 1988 into both year fields.

e. The results that appear will be sorted by default by relevancy.  Use the Sort results by drop-down menu to the right of the results to sort the results by Publication date (oldest first) if the default is not already set as such.

f. The results will be organized by oldest first and in page order, the first result being the cover (C1) of the first American VOGUE issue by Ms. Wintour as Editor-in-Chief.

 

3. Annie Leibovitz is a world renowned photographer whose iconic images have graced the pages of American Vogue for decades. Find all images attributed to her in this publication:

a. On the Advanced Search page, use the first drop-down menu to the right of the first search box to select "Photographer/illustrator" as the search field.

b. Enter the search phrase (with double quotation marks) "Leibovitz, Annie" into the first search box and click the Search button to execute the search. Resort the list by Publication date (oldest first) to see her earliest contributions; resort the list by Publication date (most recent first) to see her most recent contributions.

c. Click the Preview link of a record of interest to see publication and descriptive information as well as a thumbnail image.

d. Click the title of a record of interest to be redirected the Full text - Flash image viewer to see the high resolution image as well as indexing details.