Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA): Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

The Politics and Policy Thesaurus is used to index the Worldwide Political Science Abstracts subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced and Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts offers five Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, classification, publication, publisher location and subject. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

 

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(election)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article's text and concepts. Our team's goal is to make the article's point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Anywhere

N/A

(democracy)

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.

Author

AU

 

AU(Flint, Colin)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Author affiliation

AF

AF(Oregon)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification Codes

CC

CC(9161)

Use Classification Codes when searching business topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(European Parliament) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(BRIC)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Identifier (keywords)

IF

IF(fuzzy set analysis)

Use this to find documents relating to a particular keyword. Identifiers/keywords are automatically generated article keywords.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

 

ISSN(0419-4209)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location

LOC

LOC(Austin)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Other contributor

OAU

OAU(Berger)

Search for an other contributor.

Person

PER

PER(Obama, Barack)

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(European history quarterly)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publisher

PB

PB(Sage Publications)

Use to search for the journal publisher.

Publisher location

PBLOC

PBLOC(London)

Use to retrieve publishers located in a specific country. This information will display in the publisher field in the full record.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(development)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “development,” will find articles with the subject development, development strategies or economic development. To run an exact subject search where only “development” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(development)