Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Anthropology Resource Library: Archival Collections

Alexander Street has partnered with archives and holding institutions around the world to bring the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world

Anthropological Fieldwork Online


Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world.  This fully indexed, primary-source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective—with archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific — including key field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century. The collection brings together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique, and reshape in their own fieldwork endeavors today.

Anthropological Fieldwork Online - 

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/antf

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online

 

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. The collection brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline.

 

 

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online - 

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/etsa