Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Anthropology Online: Home

Anthropology Online Brochure Cover

Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.

The collection contains the published versions of the research aggregated in Anthropological Fieldwork Online, making this database a perfect companion piece. When used together, the two collections present firsthand insight into the process that transforms field notes into finished manuscripts.

Browse All Anthroplogy Online Content - https://search.alexanderstreet.com/anto

Anthropology Online is a comprehensive resource for the study of social and cultural life throughout the 20th century. 

All aspects of human behavior are thoroughly covered in the collection, including kinship, family, race, material culture, marriage, gender, prehistory, evolution, kinesthetics, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, male and female roles, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, and much more. Alexander Street’s indexing allows the content to be searchable by geographical region, cultural or kinship group, anthropological subjects, and more.

The majority of the content is in English, with some French and German material. Geographical coverage is global, with special focus given outside the developed world. Ranging from 19th century to the present day, Anthropology Online documents the history and development of the discipline itself, while also providing the most comprehensive tool for current trends and contemporary study.