Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Counseling & Therapy in Video: Library: Classic

CTVL Classic Image

Formerly Volumes I & II, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Classic provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.With over 500 videos spanning from 1985 to 2010, this expansive collection features world-renowned therapists demonstrating their methods and techniques as well as documentaries providing insight into the human condition and training in skills such as reflection and empathy.

  • Foundational videos from 1985-2010 cover recent history of practices

 

Browse all Counseling and Therapy in Video: Classic titles 

Volume I

Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I is a classic collection of videos filmed between 1985 and 2010, providing faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.

This collection features prominent therapists such as Jon Carlson, Sue Johnson, Allen Ivey, Insoo Kim Berg, Derald Wing Sue, and others as they demonstrate their methods, which include addiction, brief therapy, career counseling, child therapy, cognitive-behavioral therapy, domestic violence, family therapy, troup therapy, narrative therapy, supervision, and working with LGBT clients. 

Volume II

Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume II expands on the content of the first volume with a special emphasis on contemporary topics, featuring world-renowned therapists demonstrating their methods and techniques, state of the art as of 2005 or later. The collection also includes documentaries providing insight into the human condition and training in skills such as reflection and empathy.

The second volume features world-renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Allen Ivey, John Norcross, Arnold Lazarus, Otto Kemberg, Violet Oaklander, and many others, demonstrating their methods in true-to-life situations.  More than 70% of the films have been created since 2005.

Featured Titles from Classic Volumes