Early Modern Books offers 6 Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:
For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table on the right.
Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).
To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.
Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.
Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.
|
Field Name |
Label |
Search Examples & Explanation |
|
Accession/Bibliographic Number |
AN |
AN(B520) For EEBO records, see the Bibliographic references box to view complete references to abbreviations in the bibliographic name/number field. For EEB records, see the Abbreviations reference box to view complete references to abbreviations in the bibliographic name/number field. |
|
Alternate Title |
OTI |
OTI(Epistul*) Generally taken from the library catalogue, and might include short titles, translated titles and uniform titles, e.g.: Epistolæ morales. |
|
Author |
AU
|
AU(thomas more) AU(more, thomas) The Author field covers names of authors, editors, publishers, companies and performers. Personal names can be entered either forename followed by surname or surname, forename. Author names are standardized by using the Library of Congress name form as an authority form. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select names from the index. When selecting from a list of names, the names of people are listed in the format: surname, forename. |
|
Country of Publication |
CP |
CP(England) Search records by the country in which the work in question was printed/published. The list in Browse can be used to browse and select countries from the index. For EEBO records, see a list of covered Countries here. For EEB records, see a list of covered countries here. |
|
Document Notes |
NT |
NT(advertisement) For EEBO Includes Document Notes, Physical description, pagination For EEB This field contains miscellaneous information. It mostly points out details specific to the copy in question (torn pages, fingerprints, wear and tear, anomalies or eccentricities in its presentation). It also might occasionally include some provenance information or detailed Incipit and Explicit information. It also includes Physical description (8vo or Octavo) and Pagination. |
|
Document Feature |
DF |
DF.exact("Genealogical table") The Document Feature box in Advanced Search can be used to browse and select definitions from the list. Value add indexing added by ProQuest as part of the digitization. The Document Feature search allows users to find documents that contain examples of 14 different kinds of special feature for EEBO, 18 for EEB. e.g. Coat of arms; Portrait – See the Document Features list in the Early Modern Books Additional Resources box for a full list of the terms and their definitions. |
|
Document Text |
FT |
FT(beauty) This applies only to EEBO. The full text of around 40% of the books is searchable thanks to the TCP project. This field includes several subsections which are searchable separately. See the separate table for a list of fields and related sample searches. |
|
Document Title |
TI |
TI(Fragmenta) The title is transcribed directly from the title page of the print volume, e.g. Deliciæ Parnassi, seu, Fragmenta poetarum, pasquinatæ ingeniosa ac comica ilustrium virorum poemata, cum notis, seu explicationibus collecta & in hanc formam Redacta / studio ac labore T.R.T.B. This is supplemented by the Alternative Title field. |
|
Document Type |
DTYPE |
DTYPE(BOOK) Use DTYPE(issue) to single out the Periodicals. Please note: This search will only give records from EEBO. |
|
Language |
LA |
LA(LATIN) ProQuest adds this information where it’s not present in the library catalogue record. The Language box in Advanced Search and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select languages from the index. |
| Location as subject | LOC |
LOC(Venice) Search for a specific geographic area or location. Applies only to EEBO. |
|
Place of Publication |
PUBCITY |
PUBCITY(London) Use Place of publication to retrieve documents published from a specific location, typically a city. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index. |
|
Publisher |
PB |
PB(Lichfield) Use Publisher name to retrieve documents published by a specific printer or publisher. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index. |
|
Publication Title |
PUB |
PUB(mercurius) Use to search by a specific publication or publications. Applies only to EEBO. You can also browse and search the Periodicals in the Publications section. |
|
Publication Year |
PY, YR |
PY(1457) YR(1664-1699) Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years. For EEBO: Early English Books Online limits itself to providing facsimile images of items printed before 1701. See more details on the Time coverage in the Date Coverage in EEBO box For EEB: Early European Books limits itself to providing high-resolution images of items printed before 1701. However, some of the sources upon which it is based associate pre-1701 imprints with later items, and in a number of cases it has been found necessary to capture later material in order to provide the fullest possible access to the pre-1701 printed record. So there may be documents dated later than 1701. The earliest publication date is approximately 1450, the approximate date of the first European printed books. Please note that the earliest publication date in your search results will vary depending on which collection(s) you have access to. |
|
Source library |
SIN |
SIN(Norwich) For EEBO: See the list of the current contributing libraries in the Resources page. See a list of the Source Libraries in the EEBO LibGuide Additional Resources box. For EEB: The current contributing libraries are 5 (see list here). The list of source libraries displayed will vary depending on which collection(s) you have access to. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names of the Source Libraries from the index. |
|
Source Type |
STYPE |
STYPE(books) FOR EEBO: There are two source types with this field: Books, Historical periodicals. Use STYPE(historical periodicals) to single out the Periodicals. FOR EEB: STYPE(books) is the only available option. |
|
Subject Headings (All) |
MAINSUBJECT |
Mainsubject(architecture) For EEBO: The 'subject' search enables researchers to select from the full Library of Congress subject headings For EEB: The 'subject' search enables researchers to select from a list of terms provided by the 5 different source libraries, presented as one integrated list of terms. We retain the source library’s subject indexing where this is available. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index. |
|
Subject |
SU |
SU(ART) The subject field will encompass search in the Mainsubject and USTC subject classification fields |
|
USTC subject classification |
USTC |
USTC.Exact("Art and architecture") The Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. USTC subject classifications have been added to Early English Books Online records, adding a further searchable component to the collection. There are 38 subject categories. These are a standardized version of the USTC classification scheme. See detailed description of each term here. The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index. |
An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.
[Add Searchable fields Excel file here]
[Copy and paste the Searchable fields table from the Excel file below this line, then delete this line]