Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

The Vogue Italia Archive: Searchable Fields

High Quality digitization of the full run of the iconic fashion magazine Italian edition

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Vogue Italia Archive offers currently two Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's or company item. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:

  • Author
  • Company/Brand

For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the advanced search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors). 

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Searching the Articles Text

The language of the original articles text in Vogue Italia Archive is Italian. It is not translated, thus a search based on subject terms in the text fields (Title, Full Text and Abstract) should use Italian terms. However, quite often article titles are in English language, so for colours, city names, materials, generic terms such as Flowers, Food etc, it is advisable using both alternatives: English and Italian, for higher recall. Ex.: Red or Rosso

Document Type

  • Accessories‎
  • Advertisement‎
  • Article‎
  • Back Matter‎
  • Beauty‎
  • Comic strip‎
  • Covers‎
  • Fashion‎
  • Fashion Shoot‎
  • Fiction/Narrative‎
  • Front Matter‎
  • Health and Fitness‎
  • Interview‎
  • Letter‎
  • Media‎
  • Other‎
  • Recipe‎
  • Retail‎
  • Review‎
  • Runway‎
  • Table Of Contents‎

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Anywhere

      

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “All fields +text” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Note: The language of the original articles text in Vogue Italia Archive is Italian. It is not translated, thus a search based on subject terms in the text fields (Title, Full Text and Abstract) should use Italian terms. However, quite often article titles are in English, so for colours, city names, materials, generic terms such as Flowers, Food etc, it is advisable using both alternatives: English and Italian, for higher recall.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(Modigliani)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It does not include a search on the full text.

Note: The language of the original articles text in Vogue Italia Archive is Italian. It is not translated, thus a search based on subject terms in the text fields (Title, Full Text and Abstract) should use Italian terms. However, quite often article titles are in English, so for colours, city names, materials, generic terms such as Flowers, Food etc, it is advisable using both alternatives: English and Italian, for higher recall.

Author*

AU

 

AU(Stein, Gertrude)

AU(Steinem, Gloria OR Capote, Truman)

AU(Pearl Bailey)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  Use the “Look up Authors” browsable list to find the correct spelling and format of an author’s name.  Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Caption

CAP

CAP(Versace)

Search an image caption exactly as it appears next to the image.

Company/Brand*

BCO

BCO(Mercedes-Benz) 

BCO(Christian Lacroix)

Search for company, designer, or brand names of advertisers.

Contributor

CBTR

CBTR(Beaton, Cecil)

CBTR(Annie Leibovitz)

Use this field to search for contributor names in captions (i.e., makeup artists, hair stylists, and stylists).  Contributor’s names may also be found in the credits of an image, article, etc. Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Photograph)

Use to search for features within an article: Cartoons, Comic Strips, Diagrams, Graphs, Illustrations, Maps, Music, Photographs and Tables.  (Note: Articles always appear in the viewer starting on the first page of the article, yet the document feature searched for may be on a following page, so use the page navigation in the toolbar to ‘turn’ the pages.)

Document Number

AN

AN(879311098)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Text

FT

FT(“Yves St Laurent”)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Note: The language of the original articles text in Vogue Italia Archive is Italian. It is not translated, thus a search based on subject terms in the text fields (Title, Full Text and Abstract) should use Italian terms. However, quite often article titles are in English, so for colours, city names, materials, generic terms such as Flowers, Food etc, it is advisable using both alternatives: English and Italian, for higher recall.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(“Society in Novels”)

TI(“Red Carpet” OR Red-carpet)

TI(“Vogue Pattern Department”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article or locates the title of the article in its entirety.

Note: The language of the original articles text in Vogue Italia Archive is Italian. It is not translated, thus a search based on subject terms in the text fields (Title, Full Text and Abstract) should use Italian terms. However, quite often article titles are in English, so for colours, city names, materials, generic terms such as Flowers, Food etc, it is advisable using both alternatives: English and Italian, for higher recall.

Document Type

DType

DType(Advertisement)

DType(Letter to the Editor)

Use this to find specific document types. See the full list of definitions in the box on the left.

ISSN

ISSN

IISSN(00428027)

One single periodical is indexed in this database, so there is only one indexed and searchable ISSN

Issue

ISS

ISS(16)

Use to search the issue number of a resource. Use in combination with a Volume (VO) search for more specificity.

Journal Subject

JSU

JSU(“Clothing Trade—Fashions”)

The Vogue Italia Archive has been assigned 2 Journal Subjects: Beauty Culture and Clothing Trade—Fashions.  A search for any of these will produce results from all indexed records.  Because of this, this particular searchable field is most useful when cross-searching The Vogue Italia Archive database with other ProQuest databases.

Page

PG

PG(6)

PG(4-10)

Searches for the specific page or page range.

Publication Date

PD

PD(Aug 1991)

PD(199108)

Use this field to search for dates of publication.  Vogue Italia has a monthly publication cycle, with 11 issues, excluding August, until 1990. In 1991 for the first time Vogue was published also in August, thus presenting 12 issues per year.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Vogue)

One single periodical is indexed in this database, so there is only one publication title indexed and searchable

Publication Year

PY

PY(1978)

PY(1964-1971)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years.

Volume

VO

VO(35)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.  Use in combination with an Issue (ISS) search for more specificity.