Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)


Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(tintype)

This will reveal all results with tintype in the abstract.   
Accession Number / Document Number AN AN(356894)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (Accession Number)
Anywhere   portrait  

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.
Anywhere except full text ALL /
NOFT
ALL(forniture)     

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.
Author AU AU(maurice philippe)   

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Use the Look Up list to verify the various formats of the same name. 
Cited Author CAU CAU(efland)     

Searches for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Document Title CTI CTI(visual culture)    

Search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Date CYR CYR(October 1987)    

Searches for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Title CPUB CPUB(visual studies)   

Searches for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(Ford)      

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. 
Digital Object Identifiers DOI DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)      

Searches for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.
Document Feature  DF DF(Chart)     

Searches for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, photographs or references.
Document Title TI TI(digital)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(Market Research)   

Finds specific document types such as article, business case, company profile, market research…
Gallery GA GA(Stratford)   

Field to identify resources that include a gallery in the metadata.
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Issue ISS ISS(8368)     

Searches the issue number of a resource. 
Language  LA LA(Spanish)       

Original language of the document. 
Location  LOC LOC(paris)     

Specific geographic area or location.
Notes  NT NT(foundation)

Provides results on supplemental data (akin to a description or list of related organizations or notes)
Person  PER PER(armani)      

Finds articles mentioning a person.
Product Name NP NP(apple)      

Finds articles mentioning a specific product.
Publication date PD PD(19871020)     

Specific publication date. 
Publication Title PUB PUB(journal of arts management)     

Use to search by a specific publication or publications; Look up list available.
Publisher PB PB(mellon)

Shows the publisher of the result.  In this case, mellon will reveal Carnegie-Mellon University
References REF REF(Barnett-Hart, Anna Katherine)       

Looks for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). 
Source type SType STYPE(newspapers)     

Finds pecific source types such as dissertations, newspapers or scholarly journals. 
Subject Headings(All) SU SU(pacific ethnic and tribal art)  

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. (Avoid using exact.)
Subject Headings MAINSUBJECT MAINSUBJECT.EXACT("Neoclassicism")

MAINSUBJECT searches for specific subject terms from the ProQuest Thesaurus. Consult the Thesaurus hierarchy from the Thesaurus link, or alphabetically from the Look up list.
Summary language SL SL(french)

This field contains the language or languages in which the abstract is written.
Update UD UD(2016-12-15)        UD(20161215)

Provides information on when the information was last updated.  Can use just year or year/month/date.
Volume VO VO(100)    

Volume of a resource.