Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Alt-PressWatch: About

A guide to all aspects of Alt-PressWatch including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Government
  • Policy
  • Culture
  • Local, national and international issues
  • Religion
  • More

Publication Types

  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Trade Journals
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Other Sources

What is Alt-PressWatch?

Alt-PressWatch showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features around a million articles from over 270 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. Providing an alternative to corporate controlled media, the Alt-PressWatch database presents big stories from small sources.

Alt-Press Watch gives readers and researchers access to many distinctive, thought-provoking titles. Alternative news weeklies like Eugene Weekly, Missoula Independent, and The Village Voice offer different perspectives on US government, policy, and culture; report on local, national, and international issues; and cover hot-button topics like hunger, abuse, the environment, religion, and pop culture. Magazines and journals of the independent press like City Limits, Dissent, Against the Current, and Ability Magazine provide in-depth coverage of a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, labor, public policy, and more. The Alt-Press Watch database includes these titles and many others, providing an unmatched, multi-disciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: