Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music Online: American Music: Home

Free Vectors via <a href="https://www.Vecteezy.com">vecteezy.com</a>

This product is part of the Music and Dance Online collection and the Music Online: Listening collection. 

James Brown

Featured Performer

featured artist

Leon Redbone

Featured Performer

featured artist

Diana Ross

Featured Performer

featured artist

B.B. King

Featured Performer

featured artist

Judy Garland

Featured Performer

featured artist

Scott Joplin

Featured Performer

featured artist

Patsy Cline

Featured Performer

featured artist

Johnny Cash

Featured Performer

featured artist

The Mamas & The Papas

Featured Performer

featured artist

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Currently included are over 57,000 albums (over 714,000 tracks) from over 10,500 performers and ensembles. Content includes music from 37 genres including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing. Performers include B.B. King, James Brown, Hank Williams, John Denver, Jimi Hendrix, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and The Mamas & The Papas. 

You can easily find and locate music by selecting to search or browse by titles, instruments, performers/ensembles, genres, by historical events and more. The Alexander Street interface offers tools to create playlists, edit tracks, cite the music, and share with other members of your subscribing institution. 

Music Online: American Music is part of The Music Online: Listening collection. This is the most comprehensive and highest quality streaming audio collection to support the teaching and research of music.  It currently provides academic libraries with streaming access to over 10 million tracks, and is growing monthly as new recordings are added.

All of the content in The Music Online: Listening collection is included in the Music and Dance Online collection.

 

album view