Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

A thesaurus provides a standard language or set of terms with which to describe a subject area. Applied to indexing of a database, it indicates to a searcher which terms to use to retrieve the maximum number of relevant documents.

The thesaurus terms are used by indexers to describe the contents of publications in a consistent, comprehensive and concise manner. These terms are listed in the Subject field (SU) of each record added to the database.

The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database features the following thesauri:

  • ProQuest Thesaurus
  • Technology Thesaurus

Using our interactive Thesaurus Search you can browse for terms via a hierarchical, alphabetical, or search words within a concept. These display formats allow you to navigate the thesaurus alphabetically or through the hierarchical relationships between terms. After finding appropriate terms, you can submit a search for those terms in the database descriptor field.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database offers three Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations when looking for all alternative versions of an author's name.

You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following fields

  • Author
  • Publication title
  • Subject heading.

For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right.

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate the Look up a.k.a. browsable index, select the respective field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, the Look up will appear under the drop down.

Click on this link and you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search us the checkbox next to iut to mark the item.

Repeat until you have gathered all the alternative terms that you need.

At the end, click the Add to search button. All the index terms that you marked will now appear in the respective search box, all combined with the OR operator.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 

AB

AB((single command uplink cycle) and (microscopic imaging))

AB(Athena Microscopic Imager Instrument)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(A05-18-52610)

Search the unique number for articles and documents.

Author

 

AU

AU(lane, hobson)

AU(lane)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author  Affiliation

 

AF

AF(Northrup Grumman)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification

 

CL

CL(18 Spacecraft Design, Testing and Performance)

CL(18) 

Use to search classification.

Conference

 

CF

CF(infotech@aerospace 2005)

Use to retrieve papers from a specific conference.

ISSN

 

ISSN

ISSN(0146-3705)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language

 

LA

LA(English)

Use to find documents in a specific language.

Publication Date

 

PD

PD(20091220)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

(YYYYMMDD) = (20091220)

(YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (2009 and Dec) or (Dec 2009)

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

E.g.  for records with publication dates after 2009, use the following format: PD(>2009).

Publication Type

 

RTYPE

RTYPE(conference paper)

Publication Year

 

YR

YR(2005)

Used to search documents published in a specific year.

Publisher

 

PB

PB(american institute of aeronautics and astronautics)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

References

 

REF

REF(smith, j)                               

REF((smith, j) and (EVA and lunar strategy))

Use the reference search field to look for articles which cite a specific article, author or journal. It will search all components of a cited reference (cited author, cited publication, cited title or cited year).

Report Number

 

RP

RP(aiaa paper 2005-6919)

RP(2005-6919)

Source

 

SO

SO(Infotech@Aerospoace 2005)

SO(Infotech@Aerospoace and 2005)

Subfile

SFL

SFL(aerospace & high technology)

Subject

 

SU

SU(space robots)                        

SU(autonomous navigation)

Title

 

TI

TI(autonomous and inspection and robot*)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.