Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Black Studies in Video: Home

Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

FIELDS OF INTEREST:

  • Political and Social Movements
  • Family and Culture
  • Music and the Arts
  • Law and Legal Issues
  • Literature and Intellectual History
  • War and Violence
  • Religion and Belief Systems
  • Slavery
  • Imperialism and Colonialism

Exclusively from Alexander Street, Black Studies in Video features the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of over fifty hours of formal addresses, panel discussions, and programs that took place at the 50th anniversary conference and reunion commemorating the founding of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.

The collection includes documentaries on leading artists, writers, musicians, playwrights, and performers, such as Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton, Frantz Fanon, Zora Neale Hurston, Richard Wright, Eldridge Cleaver, August Wilson, Bobby Seale, Ethel Waters, Amiri Baraka, and Robert F. Williams.

The database also draws from the Hatch-Billops Collection, a critically acclaimed archive of primary and secondary resource materials focused on black American art, drama, and literature. Additional content includes the SNCC archives, the NAACP archives, and archives from select Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The collection is further enhanced by content from key production partners, including:

  • Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation
  • California Newsreel
  • Fanlight Productions
  • Landmark Media
  • Point du Jour International
  • Rediscovery Productions
  • Kino Lorber
  • First Run Features
  • Journeyman Pictures

 

Screenshot of Collection on Platform


Black Studies in Video Historical Events