Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

NHS ProQuest: LKS Support

Latest evidence based resources  available to health and care Professionals in England

Welcome to the support LibGuide for NHS in England healthcare professionals. 

On this page you will find ways to access the latest evidence based resources available to all health and care staff in England. Explore training recordings, how-to videos and the latest news and useful materials. Authorised users can search and access the nationally purchased journals and databases from the Journals and Databases page at NICE Evidence Search www.evidence.nhs.uk.

Access Through the Dialog Platform

You now have access to ProQuest databases via the Dialog Professional Platform:

Accessing ProQuest Administrator Module (PAM)

You can access your PAM by going to admin.proquest.com and entering your username and password. To request your login details, please contact Technical Support

► ProQuest Administrator Module Guides

Marketing Materials

NHS NICE Library Poster

Want tailored promo posters for your library? Please get in touch.

PROQUEST WEBINARS OFFERING

Weekly Webinars for NHS in England

Summer-Autumn 2021 Program

ProQuest is happy to present to you a full calendar of remote training sessions, with weekly frequency, starting from July 2021 and extending to December 2021. This is to support the move from HDAS to native platform searching.

The schedule will include 2 Introductory sessions and 2 Advanced sessions each month.

The dates of one or two months in advance will be published here.

Registration is required. Please click on the link of the date of your choice to go to the registration page.

Please read the full description of the 2 sessions here below the schedule, or by clicking on the title of the webinar, to make sure the content of the webinar of your choice is well tailored to the level of your experience and needs.

We will discuss real life search samples whenever possible during the sessions. Attendees are welcome to provide some real life search examples, ideally 1 week in advance to the scheduled date. We can then incorporate these into the webinar. Please address them to training@proquest.com, indicating the webinar title and date, and NHS in the email subject. Thanks!


Introduction to searching on ProQuest (click to read the full description)


Advanced Searching on ProQuest (click to read the full description)

 


Description of the 2 sessions:

 

Title: Introduction to searching on ProQuest 

Intended Audience:

o   Non-Expert users
o   for simple searches only
o   Preliminary for anyone new to ProQuest

Duration: 60 minutes (45 mins presentation/demo; 15 mins Q&As)

Assumed previous experience:

o   No previous knowledge of ProQuest
o   Assumed knowledge of the basics of online searching (boolean operators)
o   If any basic information is needed on the online searching, simple self-pacing modules can be found on the ProQuest platform libguide: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform

Learning Objectives:

participants will learn how to
o   access the databases and navigate the platform
o   carry out a simple search,
o   find the full text of an article
o   save or email a set of results.

Detailed Agenda:

o   General navigation of the ProQuest platform
        §  The 3 search levels (Basic, Advanced, Command Line)
        §  the Publications catalog and the Browsing option
        §  How to change the database
o   Basic search features:
        §  The system defaults / phrase searching
        §  Boolean operators, Nesting
        §  Setting precedence with parentheses
        §  Truncation
o   The results page features / access to full text
o   Use the narrow filters to refine the search
o   Display the results online, email or save selected results in various formats
o   Where to find additional support resources


Title: Advanced Searching on ProQuest 

Intended Audience:

o   Expert Searchers
o   for more complex searches

Duration: 60 minutes (45 mins presentation/demo; 15 mins Q&As)

Assumed previous experience:

o   For anyone who has acquired some familiarity with the ProQuest platform
o   anyone who has attended the 1st session.
o   anyone needing to run complex searches

Learning Objectives:

participants will learn how to
o   carry out an advanced search,
o   use thesaurus terms, combine searches, apply limits,
o   save searches, save results in a variety of different formats,
o   export results to reference management software

Detailed Agenda:

o   Brief recap of search basics (defaults, variants, truncation)
o   The proximity operators
o   Fields searching
       §  The Advanced search drop-down menu
       §  Command line
       §  Special field combination labels (TIAB etc)
       §  Look up Lists for specific fields
o   Using the thesaurus
       §  the visual thesaurus features
       §  Explosion, Major, Subheadings
       §  the command line versions
o   Set searching (Command Line and Recent searches)
o   Multifile search and Deduplication
o   Export results in bulk, export to Reference Managers
o   My Research - Customization options: preferences
o   My Research - Organizing your data: saving documents or searches, creating alerts or RSS Feeds


Need dedicated training?

To discuss your institution's training needs, please email your Training and Consulting Partner Daniela Cason.


For previous Webinars seasons recordings, please go to the page Recent Webinars Recordings

NICE'S FRAMEWORK - BUYER'S HANDBOOK

New HDAS/ProQuest conversion guide

Meet the ProQuest Team

Support

0 800 521 0600 
Available 7.00 – 16.30 GMT Monday to Friday

Additional support outside these core hours will also be provided by our global service desk

All queries will be responded to within 48 hours

Special Feature - Coronavirus Searching in ProQuest

​Listen to this brief 9 minute recording illustrating best practices for effective research and documentation searches on Coronavirus in ProQuest
Coronavirus Brief Search Example Recording ►

ProQuest Twitter Feed