Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Ancient Civilisations
- Applied Arts
- Area Studies - Africa
- Area Studies - Asia
- Area Studies - Australasia
- Area Studies - Europe
- Area Studies - Middle East
- Black Studies
- Fine Arts
- History (General)
- History (The Americas)
- Humanities (General)
- Jewish Studies
- Library/Information Science
- Performing Arts
- Political Science
- Public Administration
- Social Affairs
- Social Sciences (General)
- Women's Studies
- Scholarly Journals
- Trade Journals
- Historical Periodicals
What is Periodicals Index Online (PIO)?
Periodicals Index Online is an index to articles from thousands of journals within the arts, humanities and social sciences covering the period 1665-1995.
Provides access to the contents pages for every issue of over 7,000 journals, from their inception to 1995, and includes separate records for over 22 million journal articles, across 37 key subject areas and 66 languages and dialects.
Periodicals Index Online began as a collaboration with Harvard University Library in 1991 and it’s now the largest index in the humanities and social sciences.
Use Periodicals Index Online to help you:
- Save time by surveying the existing scholarship in your field comprehensively, without time-consuming work with multiple indexes (including print). PIO indexes the whole run of a title from the first issue through to 1995 or the last issue (whichever is earliest).
- Search a vast – and growing – number of article citations. Nearly 22 million index records are currently available and around 800,000 are added each year.
- Find international and multi-disciplinary research, with 37 subject areas covered and 66 languages and dialects represented.
- Discover older journal content not included in other indexes. PIO has a deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years
- Explore not only journals from academic presses but also those titles that were originally published as popular reading but now provide valuable research materials for scholars.
- Cross-search PIO with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) or any other historical or current content available in the ProQuest platform, such as newspapers, dissertations, full text articles, bibliographical databases, etc.
Live Webinars & Recordings
Journals must fall within one or more of the 37 subject areas in the humanities and social sciences.
To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:
PIO title list
View the latest title list and publication coverage here.