Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

California k-12 for Students: Home

For students to use to get to the ProQuest Resources included in the California state-wide contract

Use the list below to link into your subscriptions and to see support materials (guides and recorded training) for the content. 

Culturegrams

product iconCultureGrams™      (Grades 3-12)
Culturegrams™ is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS® Issues Researcher      (Grades 6+ )
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analysis and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.

SIRS Discoverer

product iconSIRS® Discoverer     (Grades 3-9)
SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in the Primary and early Secondary school market segment. It is the only resource for materials targeted to student research. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. SIRS Discoverer is created with special care to provide for differentiated instruction and information literacy requirements. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible through easy-to-follow search and browse options.

Content highlighting specific features in this product

eLibrary

eLibrary®      (Grades 6+ )
eLibrary delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support every range of users, including middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. eLibrary’s updated interface and features make research easy. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files.

There are two versions of eLibrary, the Guided Research Edition, and the Database Edition.  See resources for each below.

ProQuest Central Student

product icon ProQuest Central Student      (Grades 9+, IB, AP, College Prep)
ProQuest Central Student is designed to bring instant results to users across thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, reports, and other types of content. This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news.

School and Educators Complete

product iconSchools and Educators Complete      (Grades 9+, possibly some content for Middle School, also includes professional development content for faculty)

Schools and Educators Complete™ includes ebooks from publishers such as ALA Editions, ASCD, Classroom Complete, and the National Science Teacher Association. The collection now includes a growing selection of over 12,000 titles with unlimited, multi-user access and a wealth of information in professional development and training resources. Almost 4,500 titles in the database have relevance to state, national or provincial curriculum standards, with coverage of all Common Core subjects.

Product Access:  Each district has their own URL for log in.  Please check with your school library/media contact for access.

ProQuest Research Companion

Research Companion icon ProQuest Research Companion   (Grades 8+; students need to be 13 or older to create an individual account within the product) is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and educators to focus on teaching the more complex research and writing principles.