Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Criminology Collection: About

Criminology Collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, and legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services

Content

The products and collections listed below make up the Criminology Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.

Also included below are links to product brochures and catalogs.

Subjects

  • Addiction
  • Corrections administration
  • Criminal justice
  • Criminal law
  • Criminology
  • Family law
  • Homeland security
  • Industrial security
  • Law enforcement
  • Rehabilitation
  • Terrorism

What is the Criminology Collection?

The Criminology Collection covers literature on crime, its causes, impacts and legal and social implications, as well as materials on law enforcement and security services.  The collection covers scholarly journals along with correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs, and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.

The collection includes the Criminal Justice Database, a full-text and index database supporting research on crime geared towards scholars and career criminal justice professionals. It also includes National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, which is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

Collection Beneftis

  • Sources covered in the Criminology Collection include U.S. and international scholarly journals; correctional and law enforcement trade publications; reports; news; crime statistics; and crime blogs. Addressing the need to bridge the latest research with practice, the Criminology Collection is well suited to vocational courses for those pursuing careers in law enforcement and security as well as those conducting academic social scientific research into criminal justice.
  • The collection includes over 2,500 recent dissertations on criminal justice topics, unavailable from any other vendor.
  • Addressing the need to bridge the latest research with practice, the Criminology Collection is well suited to vocational courses for those pursuing careers in law enforcement and security as well as those conducting academic social scientific research into criminal justice.
  • The Criminal Justice Database, included within the Criminology Collection, includes extensive abstracting and indexing coverage of the scholarly journal literature in criminology with easy linking to full text from other providers if they are not available as part of the collection. Together with NCJRS Abstracts Database, which includes extensive A&I coverage of other sources including books and government reports, the Criminology Collection provides full index coverage of the key scholarly literature for those researching topics in criminal justice.
  • The Criminology Collection leverages the ProQuest thesaurus, which includes hundreds of terms specific to criminal justice topics in its controlled vocabulary, to help users quickly find relevant results.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is the Criminal Justice Database?

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. 

The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.

What is the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database?

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

Product Access

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

ProQuest Platform Videos