Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early European Books (EEB)

Printed sources from continental Europe to 1700, now in ProQuest

Square collage of decorative images 3

 

 

 

 

       Notable sample documents from each collection.

                   Click on the arrows to see more.

Collection Images

Fig 1 - Collection 1 - Gesta Danorum

Historia Danorum, by Saxo Grammaticus, d. ca. 1204. Edit 1514

Det Kongelige Bibliotek / The Royal Library (Copenhagen)

Fig 2 - Collection 2. Divine Comedy, by Dante Alighieri, 1265-1321

Edit: Venice, Aldine Press  1515. Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (BNCF)

Founded by Aldo Manuzio (AKA Aldus Manutius) in Venice in 1495, the Aldine Press was one of the most historically significant institutions in the early history of printed books. This is the first portable edition of Dante’s Divine Comedy. The Aldine text formed the standard edition of Dante until the late 19th century, and the second Aldine edition (1515) was the first to include the famous woodcut diagram illustrating the circles of Hell.

Map of West Indies from History of the New World 1625

Fig 3 - Collection 3 - History of the New World

Joannes de Laet’s History of the New World (Leiden, 1625)   Map of West Indies

Edition of Ars Amandi by Ovidius owned by William Morris

Fig 4 - Collection 4 - Ovidius Ars Amandi

Ovidius de arte amandi  Text embedded into the commentary by Bartholomeus Merula. Edition Milan, 1521

Formerly owned by William Morris. Welcome Library, London

Metoposcopy figure by Girolamo Cardano

Fig 5 - Collection 5 - La Métoposcope de H. Cardan

Medical illustration from a French translation of the 16th-century Italian polymath Girolamo Cardano's work on physiognomy, published in Paris in 1658 as La Métoposcope de H. Cardan. BNF Collection 5

Fig 6 - Collection 6 - La Toyson d'or

Frontispiece illustration from La Toyson d'or, ou la Fleur des thrésors, en laquelle est succinctement et méthodiquement traicté de la pierre des philosophes (1613) by Salomon Trismosin.

Illustration from Ducth translation of Sir Raleigh's Discovery of Guiana and Manoa

Fig 7 - Collection 7 - Sir Walter Raleigh "The Discovery of [...] Guiana and [...] Manoa"

Illustration from a 1617 Dutch translation of Sir Walter Raleigh's The Discovery of the Large, Rich and Beautiful Empire of Guiana, with a relation of the Great and Golden City of Manoa (which the Spaniards call El Dorado), originally published in 1595.  Royal Library,The Hague.

Portrait of Madeleine de Scudery

Fig 8 - Collection 8 - Clelie, Histoire Romaine - Portrait of M.me de Scudery

Portrait and motto of Madeleine de Scudéry from her major romance Clelie Histoire Romaine Paris, 1656. BNF

Illuminated letter by Dialogus Creaturarum 1480

Fig 9 - Collection 9 - Dialogus creaturarum 1480

Incipit with Illuminated letter of 1480 Gouda edition of the Dialogus creaturarum moralisatus (fables) by Nicholaus Pergaminus

Cannibals from Voyages en Afrique, Asie et Indies

Collection 10 - Cannibals from Voyages en Afrique, Asie et Indies

Illustration depicting Caribbean cannibals cooking and eating their enemies. From Voyages en Afrique, Asie, Indes orientales et occidentales by the French explorer Jean Mocquet (1575-1616?) published in Rouen in 1645.

The Religions of the World

Collection 11 - Les Religions du monde

Illustration from Les Religions du monde (Amsterdam, 1666), a French translation of Scottish author Alexander Ross's Pansebeia (1655). The illustration heads a chapter describing the Anabaptists and other Protestant sects.  

Portrait of Joan d'Arc

Collection 12 - Portrait of Joan d'Arc

Frontispiece illustration depicting Joan of Arc. From L'histoire et discours au vray du siege qui fut mis devant la ville d'Orleans (Orleans, 1606).

Orlando Furioso by Ludovico Ariosto

Collection 13 - Orlando Furioso by Ludovico Ariosto ed 1580

a 1580 edition of Ariosto’s (1474-1533) Orlando Furioso - BNCF