Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

Several thesauri are used to index the subject field in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management databases:

  • Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) thesaurus
  • EIS Controlled terms (subjects)Life Sciences thesaurus
  • Pollution Controlled Vocabulary
  • Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary
  • Water Resources Abstracts thesaurus

Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for Identifiers (keywords), Location and Taxonomic term.  These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management offers four look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject and location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the look up. Other look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

 

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

 

AB(Genetic manipulation)

Publication abstracts are provided for most articles. Search the abstract field specifically to ensure that you get focused results. Search phrases using truncation to capture alternative endings of words; search multi-word phrases with quotation marks to ensure precise results.
 

Accession Number

AN

AN(23026220)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(carbon dioxide)

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

 

Author

AU

AU(Bastian, Rode)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Author affiliation

AF

AF(Oxford)

The authors institution (university, company, organization).

Caption

CAP

CAP(sea surface temperature)

Explanatory text about published images.

Classification Codes

CC

CC(Water Quality)

Use Classification Codes when searching biological science topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Conference

CF

CF(benthic ecology columbia)

This field provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred. All these words are searchable, but for faster retrieval, ignore the common words such as "annual or "annu" or "meeting" and search for the distinctive elements only.

Corporate author

CA

CA(Fisheries Research Institute)

Search for corporate/institutional name, country, city.

Document Title

TI

TI(greenhouse)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Editor

ED

ED(Nielsen)

Either a book general author, book editor name, journal editor name.

Environmental regime

ER

ER(marine)

Describes the type of aquatic waters from which the study was held.  Freshwater (F), marine (M) or brackish-estuary (B).

Figure/Table type

FIGT

 

FIGT(illustration) 

Graph, illustration, photograph, map.

Identifier (keyword)

IF

IF(microbial)

Search the researchers identifiers och keywords.

Input center, ASFA

TR

TR(IF1100629)

Input to ASFA is provided by an international network of information (input) centers. Each center is represented by a 2-letter code, which is followed by a number indicating the year the record was prepared and an identification number. 

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9781124937571)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(1525-6014)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location

LOC

LOC(china)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Notes

NT

NT(erratum)

Supplemental data, for instance an erratum.

Original title

OTI

 

OTI(pharmacologique)

This is where a foreign-language title might be displayed, if the article included both an English and a foreign-language title.

Other numbers

NU

NU(52)

This is a field used to indicate numbers such as a catalog number of a monograph.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Nature)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publisher

PB

PB(Cambridge University Press)

Use quotation marks for more precise results.

Reference

REF

REF(Douglas)

REF(Douglas NEAR 2011)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). Remember to use the NEAR operator when combining different elements of a cited reference

Subject Heading

SU

SU(freshwater)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “freshwater” will find articles with the subject freshwater, freshwater fish or freshwater environments. To run an exact subject search where only “freshwater” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(freshwater)

Searching the SU field will also include a search in the single fields, Identifier (IF), Location (LOC) and Taxonomic term (TXTERM).

Summary language

SL

SL(English)
 

Tags

TAG

TAG(toxic)

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Taxonomic term

TXTERM

TXTERM(Pilargidae)

Search Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary.