Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an Unpublished Hearing?
Many hearings are not printed. The law does not require publication, and each committee or subcommittee decides whether to publish a particular hearing.
Rules dictate when unpublished hearings are released from the National Archives. Senate hearings are usually released after 20 years; House hearings after 30 years. The exception is hearings that include classified or sensitive material; they can be held for up to 50 years.
About the ProQuest Unpublished Hearings
A quick note about unpublished hearings holdings from the ProQuest collections.
When the original collections of unpublished hearings (for both the House and the Senate) were released, they were separate microfiche collections from the published hearings. For the digital collections, the unpublished hearings that had been acquired prior to the creation of the ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collections were included in the collections along with published hearings. This includes House unpublished hearings through 1972 and Senate unpublished hearings through 1984.
Since the initial retrospective modules were released, three modules of unpublished materials have been released. They are:
- Part A: House hearings, 1973-79 (all of the Senate materials for those dates had been released previously).
- Part B: House hearings, 1980; Senate hearings,1985 – 1990.
- Part C: House hearings, 1981-82; Senate hearings, 1991-92; plus 104 recently declassified hearings from earlier dates.
Congressional Topics: Unpublished Hearings
January 21, 2015, 29 minutes
Unpublished hearings are a source of interest for many librarians. Questions include: why wasn't a particular hearing published, how many are there out there, in ProQuest Congressional (and the digital collections) how can I see which hearings are published and which aren't, what kind of material is included in unpublished hearings?
View this recorded session to see what information can we can find in the ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collections, and the Unpublished Hearings Modules to answer these questions.
Searching for Unpublished Hearings
On the Basic Search page enter in the Search term. For example the search term could be the Subject of the HearingThe Basic Search will search Full Text for the Search Term and will return an unlimited number of results.
The Basic search will return all available content types such as Hearings Published, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, etc. (depending on institutional subscriptions).
Alternatively, you can use the Advanced Search form to search more specifically in Hearings only, for the term unpublished and the keywords describing your subject.
Facets can be found on the left hand side of the search results screen.
If available, Hearings Unpublished will be an available Document Type facet. Click on the link for Hearings Unpublished to limit the search results.
Unpublished Hearings Collection A (House hearings, 1973-79)
Briefing by Secretary of State Dr. Henry A. Kissinger on Sinai Agreement
Sep. 12, 1975. Briefing to review recent disengagement agreement among Israel and Egypt to withdraw troops a certain distance in the Sinai peninsula to expand UN-monitored buffer zone between Israeli and Egyptian forces, to agree that the Israeli-Egyptian conflict cannot be resolved by military force but must be settled by peaceful means, and to require U.S. civilian technicians to supervise early-warning system facilities in the Sinai.
H. Res. 875, Televising of Proceedings of the House of Representatives
Mar. 4, 1976. Contains transcript of Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Broadcasting markup session on H. Res. 875, to provide for radio and television coverage of House proceedings.
Immigration and Naturalization Service Regional Office Operations
Dec. 10, 1974. Continuation of hearings before the Subcom on Legal and Monetary Affairs to examine the management and operational procedures of the Immigration and Naturalization Service regional offices.
Inquiry into the Destruction of Former FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's Files
Sep. 27, 1976. Meeting of the Subcommittee on Government Information and Individual Rights to review findings and recommendations of Subcommittee Sept. 1976 interim report investigating disposition of late FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's personal files upon his death in 1972. Also examines concerns about Subcom investigation thoroughness and certain report findings.
Markup Session: S. 1174, To Reduce the Hazards of Earthquakes
Sep. 8, 1976. Contains transcript of continuation of Committee markup session on S. 1174, to establish a national earthquake hazard reduction research program. Session was adjourned for lack of a quorum.
Unpublished Hearings Collection B (House hearings, 1980; Senate hearings,1985 – 1990)
Business Meeting To Consider and Vote on Pending Nominations and S. Res. 232, Concerning the Denial of Freedom of Religion and Other Human Rights in Soviet-Occupied Lithuania
Jun. 30, 1987. Meeting to consider various nominations and S. Res. 232, to express the sense of the Senate against the Soviet denial of religious liberty and other human rights in Lithuania.
Markup on S. 2006, The Department of the Environment Act of 1990 and the Nomination of Allan Victor Burman To Be Administrator for Federal Procurement Policy
Feb. 28, 1990. Contains transcript of Committee markup session to consider the following:
- S. 2006, the Department of the Environment Act of 1990, to establish EPA as a Cabinet-level Department of the Environment, and define the functions and responsibilities of principal offices and officers. Bill was favorably reported.
- Nomination of Allan V. Burman to be Administrator, Federal Procurement Policy, OMB.
Markup of Fiscal Year 1988 Foreign Relations Authorization Legislation
May 5, 1987. Contains transcript of Committee markup session on S. 1394, the Foreign Relations Authorization Act, FY88, to authorize FY88 appropriations for Department of State, U.S. Information Agency, Board for International Broadcasting, Asia Foundation, U.S. assessed contributions to the UN, contributions to international organizations and commissions, and Department of State migration and refugee assistance programs.
Unpublished Hearings Collection C (House hearings, 1981-82; Senate hearings, 1991-92; plus 104 recently declassified hearings from earlier dates)
Synthetic Fuels Program
Feb. 17, 1981. Hearing before the Subcom on Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources to examine DOE-Gulf Oil Corp. proposed demonstration project to construct a solvent refined coal (SRC) plant in Morgantown, W.Va., to produce liquid fuel from coal, a process referred to as SRC-II.
Mark-Up of H.R. 7336, Technical Amendments to the Education Consolidation and Improvement Act
Dec. 17, 1982. Contains transcript of Committee markup session on H.R. 7336, to amend the Education Consolidation and Improvement Act of 1981 to clarify and revise provisions relating to implementation of Federal aid to State compensatory education programs and elementary and secondary education block grant programs. Bill was favorably reported.