Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence - RELEASED
Early records in the collection describe the political situation in European countries on the outbreak of the war, as reported by military attaches and diplomatic and consular personnel. These early records also cover the financial position of the warring countries and even anti-war sentiments in 1914.
The documents also examine the technological innovations of World War I, particularly in air and naval warfare. Additionally, this formerly confidential correspondence covers a wide range of other wartime issues, such as birth rates, the role of women in the war, food supply, Zionism, and the Vatican.
The files conclude with detailed coverage of various peace efforts and the armistice, as well as postwar issues such as redrawing the map of Europe, and the consequences of the war for Germany.
Margaret Sanger Papers - RELEASED
Margaret Sanger (1879-1966) was the principal founder and lifelong leader of the American and the international birth control movements. The Margaret Sanger Papers covers every aspect of the birth control movement, including the movement’s changing ideologies, its campaign for legitimacy and its internal conflicts and organizational growth. These papers also provide significant insight on the history of changing attitudes towards women’s roles and sexuality, and have significant research value to the fields of women’s history, social and intellectual history, medicine and public health, religion, and world economic development, among others.
Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers (1879-1924) - RELEASED
Congressman, Governor, and United States Senator, Robert Marion La Follette is one of the crucial figures of the Progressive Movement of the early twentieth century. This collection documents his early career in the political reform movement from 1879 to 1910.
During these years, La Follette emerged as the powerful leader of the reform coalition which was struggling with the state’s large economic interests for control of the government. In 1901 the reformers won control of the state Republican party, and La Follette began the first of his three terms as governor.
La Follette’s papers focus on his fight to reform corruption and injustice in the political system of the state of Wisconsin. They include correspondence with Andrew Carnegie, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, and other major figures of the Progressive Era.
Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 - RELEASED
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics. Early records in the collection focus on events in Palestine, Britain’s policy toward Palestine, and how the situation in Palestine affected relations with other nations. The files also survey the contours of Arab politics in the wider Middle East. Since the interests, rivalries, and designs of various Arab leaders were often played out with reference to Palestine, the documents provide insight into the complex and sometimes bloody Arab world. In the 1947-1948 period, this module explores the tensions within Anglo-American relations over the creation and recognition of Israel as a sovereign state. A large section of the material is devoted to United Nations deliberations on the Palestine question. The records also illuminate the political, philosophical, and personal fractures within and between both the Jewish and Arab communities from 1940-1948.
Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights (1872-1934) - RELEASED
The Progressive Era, dating roughly from 1890-1920, was a reaction to the rapid industrialization and social and economic changes of the “Gilded Age” in the last two decades of the 19th century and the turn of the 20th century. Progressive Era reformers, as the name implies, believed in progress and their ability to improve society through a broad range of reforms. The efforts of these reformers created one of the great movements in American history. This module on the Progressive Era consists of 11 collections and documents a variety of the ways that the Progressive Movement attempted to improve the lives of the American people. The collections cover women’s right to vote, the Standard Oil monopoly case, the efforts of journalist Henry Demarest Lloyd, the University Settlement Society of New York City, prohibition, reform of law enforcement, the Teapot Dome bribery case regarding petroleum reserves on government lands, and regulation of food and drugs.
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896) - RELEASED
Industry never rivaled agriculture as an employer of slave labor in the Old South, but because of the kinds of records industrial enterprises kept, and because of the survival of superb collections in depositories like the Duke University Library, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, University of Virginia, and Virginia Historical Society, a window is opened on the slave's world that no other type of primary documentary evidence affords. Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries presents some of the richest, most valuable, and most complete collections in the entire documentary record of American slavery, focusing on the industrial uses of slave labor. The materials selected include company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income. The work ledgers in these collections record slave earnings and expenditures and provide extraordinary insight into slave life. The collections document slavery in such enterprises as gold, silver, copper, and lead mining; iron manufacturing, machine shop work, lumbering, quarrying, brick making, tobacco manufacturing, shipbuilding, and heavy construction; and building of railroads and canals.