Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

History Vault: 2020 Releases

 Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-today running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare. 

CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe

This module consists of two major series of records: CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976 and records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958. Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA's predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, CIA Research Reports reproduces over 1,500 reports on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America. This series, covering the three eventful decades starting in 1946, comprises 206 titles. Roughly a third deal with international questions; of those focusing on individual countries, the Congo is given most attention (85 titles), having been the subject of weekly reports for six months starting in November 1964. The Murphy Collection on Eastern Europe provides extensive information on war recovery efforts, international aid, and the formation of countries.  The contentious Big Four relations over Austria and Poland account for those two countries’ presence in the majority of the collection’s documents.  Most importantly, the collection illuminates the effects of war on the national attitudes of both liberating and liberated countries. 

Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933

The Temperance and Prohibition Movement in the United States was one of the most powerful and influential forces for social reform during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Attracting wide public support through several important organizations, temperance leaders eventually succeeded in placing a national prohibition amendment in the Constitution. The Eighteenth Amendment marked the ultimate triumph of the temperance and prohibition movement, but it was a victory which failed to achieve anticipated results. National prohibition in the end discredited the cause of temperance in the minds of many Americans. Yet the temperance and prohibition movement had held a prominent place among social reform causes during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This module contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States. The two largest organizational collections in the module are the Anti-Saloon League of America (A.S.L.A.) and the records of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union (W.C.T.U.) The papers of individuals prominent in the movement are included as well. The files of Ernest H. Cherrington comprise the largest collection. The W.C.T.U. collection contains important correspondence and writings of Frances E. Willard. The Anti-Saloon League Office of General Counsel and Legislative Superintendent series contains important papers of Wayne B. Wheeler, and papers of Mary H. Hunt and Cora F. Stoddard are included in the Scientific Temperance Federation series. To supplement the manuscript material filmed, several periodicals have been included. The American Issue, chief publication of the Anti-Saloon League of America, and the Union Signal, official publication of the W.C.T.U., provide an important published record of the activities and mission of their respective organizations.

Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America

This module documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. Collections in this module are sourced from the Rhode Island Historical Society, Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and the U.S. National Archives. In addition to records on the slave trade, this module also includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General. These letters cover the slave trade, runaway slaves, Reconstruction Acts and other key 19th century legal issues such as land claims, military affairs, piracy, and mail theft.

Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Seen through women’s eyes, nineteenth century southern social history takes on new dimensions. Subjects that were of only passing interest when historians depended on documents created by men now move to center stage. Women’s letters dwell heavily on illness, pregnancy, and childbirth. From them we can learn what it is like to live in a society in which very few diseases are well understood, in which death is common in all age groups, and where infant mortality is an accepted fact of life. The years of the Civil War are particularly well documented since many women were convinced that they were living through momentous historical events of which they should make a record.