Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

History Vault: 2021 Releases


Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration, 1979-1981

Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. In the summer of 1979, the Carter Administration created the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs in order to address issues of critical importance to the Latino community. The coming decade of the 1980s was being hailed as “the Decade of the Hispanic,” and many were looking to the president and Congress to show more respect for Latinos and their manifold contributions to the United States. Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.


Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 3 (forthcoming December 2021)

This module represents the third installment of ProQuest’s digitization of its important collection of Records of Southern Plantations. Part 3 consists of collections selected from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas. The Cameron Family Papers chart the rise of a plantation family beginning in 1770, when the family ran a country store along an Indian trail in central North Carolina. The Cameron Family Papers document plantation management by women during the men's absences. The Pettigrew Family Papers recount the history of an influential coastal North Carolina family of planters, ministers, intellectuals, military officers, and politicians. The candor of the Pettigrew letters on slavery has been of value to historians for many years. Part 3 also includes several collections of cotton factors' records, notably the records of Maunsell White from Louisiana, and the Gordon family from Savannah, Georgia. As the financial fulcrum of the cotton trade, the factor served as the planters' banker, supplier and sales agent. Records from Mississippi plantations include a number of diaries documenting daily life. Other topics covered in Part 3 are the lives of the enslaved people, Southern politics, and the settlement of the Southern frontier in Arkansas and Mississippi.


American Federation of Labor Records: The Samuel Gompers Era, 1877-1937 (forthcoming September 2021)

As leader of the American Federation of Labor, Samuel Gompers (1850-1924) championed a set of tactics and an ideology, rooted in craft-union traditions, which profoundly shaped the course of American labor history. Over 350,000 pages of union documentation throw light on the momentous struggles within the American labor movement during and just after the Samuel Gompers era. Most of the records in the collection date from the formation of the AFL in 1886 until Gompers’ death in December 1924, but there are a few materials from before 1886 and after 1924. One of the strengths of this collection is its documentation of Gompers' own activities. Gompers’ general correspondence, speeches and writings, conferences, and congressional testimony make up a major portion of the collection. In addition, the National and International Union Correspondence consists largely of letters to and from Gompers. The materials in this collection reveal the personalities, issues and ideas that forged the modern American labor movement.