The Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files is made up of three modules based on locations: Africa and the Middle East, Asia, and Europe and Latin America.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969
Student demonstrations, political unrest, coup d'etats, assassinations, political trials, meetings and visits of foreign leaders, economic and agricultural assistance, disputes over the use of international waters, international trade, military conflicts. These are just a small sampling of the subjects covered by Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files on the turbulent 1960s around the world. The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Concentrating exclusively on those U.S. State Department Central Files Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers, the U.S. State Department Central Files Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. The Africa and Middle East files document a number of fascinating issues. The Africa files cover the brutal civil war between Biafra and Nigeria in the late 1960s, the 1964 Rivonia trial of Nelson Mandela and seven leaders of the African National Congress, violent protest against the South African government coupled with police crackdowns on the resistance, the troubled relationship between the U.S. and the apartheid regime, and the first years of independence in Ghana and the Congo. The files on Egypt offer considerable detail on the Egyptian political structure which was dominated by Gamal Abdel Nasser in the 1960s. Political issues are also covered in extensive detail in the files on Iran, Iraq, and Israel. Documents on Iran follow Ali Amin's tenure as prime minister and his succession by Asadollah Alam. In Israel, State Department personnel tracked developments in the Knesset (Israeli Parliament), the political fortunes of important members of the Israeli government, and the fragile security situation faced by Israel. The countries covered in this module are: Biafra/Nigeria; Congo; Egypt; Ghana; South Africa; Iran; Iraq; Israel; Lebanon; Palestine; Saudi Arabia; the Persian Gulf States (Aden, Bahrein, Kuwait, Muscat & Oman, Qatar, Trucial Sheiks); and Yemen.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969
The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Concentrating exclusively on those U.S. State Department Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers, the U.S. State Department Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and countless translations of high-level foreign government documents. The Countries covered in this module are: China, Far East (general), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam. The files on China, Japan, and Vietnam make up the largest portion of this module. Major topics covered in the China files include the tensions between the People's Republic of China and the Republic of China, the U.S.'s Two Chinas policy, and the Cultural Revolution in China. In Japan, State Department personnel reported on student demonstrations, the activities of Japanese political parties, the 1964 Olympics, negotiations regarding Japanese import and export restrictions, issues pertaining to the Japanese Self Defense Force, relations with South Korea, the possible reversion of Okinawa to Japan, diplomatic meetings, and the Japanese fishing industry. In the Vietnam files, documentation on agricultural commodities shipped to Vietnam as part of the Food for Peace program will give researchers a sense of agricultural prices, currency rates, and the food supply in Vietnam during the war. State Department records on Vietnam also cover relations between Buddhists and the government, and U.S. military intervention and military assistance in Vietnam. The records on Laos in this module focus on the political instability in Laos.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969
Student demonstrations, political unrest, coup d'etats, assassinations, political trials, meetings and visits of foreign leaders, economic and agricultural assistance, disputes over the use of international waters, international trade, military conflicts. These are just a small sampling of the subjects covered by Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files on the turbulent 1960s around the world. The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Concentrating exclusively on those U.S. State Department Central Files Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers, the U.S. State Department Central Files Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. A handful of the interesting topics covered in these files include incidents between U.S. and Soviet fishing boats in Alaskan waters; Cuban sugar industry; international reaction to the Bay of Pigs invasion; East-West tensions in Berlin, Germany; development aid from West Germany to developing nations; activities of the Organization of American States; settlement of the dispute over the Chamizal region in El Paso, Texas, and Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua; salt content of the Colorado River waters delivered to Mexico; anti-American protests in Panama; American military aid to Latin American nations; and visits and meeting with Soviet leaders such as Nikita S. Khrushchvev, Aleksei Kosygin, Andrei Gromyko, Anastas Mikoyan, and others. The countries covered in the Europe and Latin America module are Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany); Germany (focusing on Berlin); Soviet Union; Cuba; Mexico; Panama; and Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Biafra-Nigeria: Subject-Numeric Files, Political Affairs, 1967-1969
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Congo: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Egypt/United Arab Republic: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Ghana: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Iran: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Iraq: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Iraq: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Lebanon: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Palestine-Israel: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Palestine-Israel: Subject-Numeric Files, 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Palestine-Israel: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Persian Gulf States and Yemen: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Saudi Arabia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, South Africa: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, South Africa: Subject-Numeric Files, 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, South Africa: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to particular countries and world events.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963contains a wide range of primary materials: special reports and observations on political affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; and countless high-level/head-of-state government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, aide-memoire, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies. Spanning approximately 5,000 pages across more than 250 folders, these documents focus mainly on Communist China's political relations with other nations, especially the United States. Also included here are political affairs documents on Tibet and Mongolia. Researchers should also explore Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963, included in this module.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963contains a wide range of primary materials: special reports and observations on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; legal and claims documentation; full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports, news clippings, and translations from journals and newspapers; and countless high-level/head-of-state government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, aide-memoire, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies. Spanning approximately 27,000 pages across more than 1,000 folders, these documents focus mainly on Communist and Nationalist China's internal affairs, including economic and living conditions, political and national defense affairs, industrial and financial growth, Communist polemics, and agriculture and manufacturing developments. Also included here are brief sets of additional documents on Manchuria, Tibet, and Mongolia internal affairs. Researchers should also explore Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963, included in this module.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Subject-Numeric Files, 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection consists of the Central Files for both Taiwan (Nationalist China; CHINAT) and the People's Republic of China (Communist China; CHICOM) for the period between 1967 and 1969. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this collection are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, China: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection consists of the Central Files for both Taiwan (Nationalist China; CHINAT) and the People's Republic of China (Communist China; CHICOM) for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this collection are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), POL (Political Affairs and Relations), and STR (Strategic Trade Control). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and numerous reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Far East: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. The files for 1960-January 1963 contain a wide range of primary materials arranged topically and chronologically: full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; legal documentation; reports and clippings from journals and newspapers; minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign leaders; high-level government documents, including official reports, working papers, and memoranda; and transcripts or summaries of speeches, press conferences, and interviews.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Hong Kong: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 7,000 pages across more than 400 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Hong Kong: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of two Hong Kong collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." The second Hong Kong collection documents the time period February 1963-1966.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Hong Kong: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 2,000 pages across nearly 100 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Hong Kong: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists generally of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and economic affairs. The History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia," also contains Central Files for Hong Kong during 1960-January 1963.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Indonesia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 20,000 pages across more than 1,200 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Indonesia: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of the collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." The State Department Central Files for 1960-January 1963 cover a crucial period in U.S. and world history. Each part of the 1960-January 1963 series contains a wide range of primary materials: special reports and observations on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; legal and claims documentation; full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports, news clippings, and translations from journals and newspapers; and countless high-level/head of state government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, aide-memoire, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Japan: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 38,000 pages across more than 1,600 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Japan: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of the collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." In addition to predominantly covering Japan, this collection contains brief series of Central Files for Taiwan and the Ryukyu Islands.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Japan: Subject-Numeric Files, 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
Japan's resurrection following World War II is one of the greatest stories of the twentieth century. After a brief period under U.S. occupation and armed with a new pacifist constitution, Japan embarked in the 1950s on a phenomenal period of economic growth that lasted nearly four decades. This collection witnesses a Japan flush with economic and political power but still chafing under the military dominance of the United States. The documents come from the U.S. State Department Central Files, which are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973, and this edition contains documents from the AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations) categories. The files are derived from a wide array of sources, including cables sent and received by diplomatic personnel; reports of meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials; newspaper summaries and clippings; descriptions of routine legislative proceedings; speeches and correspondence; and miscellaneous reports on an assortment of political, social, and economic affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Japan: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 50,000 pages across nearly 500 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Japan: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Internal and Foreign Affairs consists generally of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, economic, and social affairs. History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia," also contains Central Files for Japan during 1960-January 1963, and 1967-1969.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Laos: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning approximately 36,000 pages across nearly 700 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Laos: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of the collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." The State Department Central Files for 1960-January 1963 cover a crucial period in U.S. and world history. Each part of the 1960-January 1963 series contains a wide range of primary materials: special reports and observations on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; legal and claims documentation; full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports, news clippings, and translations from journals and newspapers; and countless high-level/head-of-state government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, aide-memoire, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Philippine Republic: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Spanning more than 14,000 pages across nearly 900 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Philippine Republic: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of the collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." The State Department Central Files for 1960-January 1963 cover a crucial period in U.S. and world history. Each part of the 1960-January 1963 series contains a wide range of primary materials: cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Vietnam: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection consists of the Central Files for Vietnam as well as Indochina for the period between 1960 and January 1963. Spanning approximately 24,000 pages across more than 700 folders, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Vietnam: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963constitutes one of the collections in History Vault Module, "Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia." The State Department Central Files for 1960-January 1963 cover a crucial period in U.S. and world history and each part of the series contains a wide range of primary materials: special reports and observations on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; legal and claims documentation; full texts of important letters and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports, news clippings, and translations from journals and newspapers; and countless high-level/head-of-state government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, aide-memoire, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Vietnam: Subject-Numeric Files, 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection consists of the Central Files for both South Vietnam (Republic of Vietnam; RVN) and North Vietnam (Democratic Republic of Vietnam; DRVN) for the period between 1967 and 1969. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this collection are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Vietnam: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection consists of the Central Files for South Vietnam (Republic of Vietnam; RVN) for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this collection are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, economic, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963
Perhaps because of its proximity to the United States, no country in the Western Hemisphere concerned the State Department during the Cold War years more than Cuba. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba, 1960—January 1963: Internal Affairs contains detailed diplomatic correspondence and documents related to Cuba and Cuba's internal political situation. Instability and the threat of Communism gave rise to vigilant diplomatic reporting and exhaustive U.S. intelligence, all collected here in the U.S. State Department Central Files for Cuba. These records offer a close look at the evolution of "Communist" Cuba. A multiracial society, Cuba was transformed politically, economically, and socially into a totalitarian state. Its charismatic leader, Fidel Castro, exercised control over all aspects of Cuban life through the Communist Party and its affiliated mass organizations, the government bureaucracy, and the state security apparatus.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba: Subject Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba, February 1963—1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for Cuba for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Foreign Affairs, 1960-1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Foreign Affairs, 1960—January 1963 contains a wealth of information about post-war Germany, including correspondence and reports on the government, U.S. aid to West Germany, and other political and international relations. Surpassing the scope of the State Department’s Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Internal Affairs, 1960-1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Internal Affairs, 1960—January 1963 contains a wealth of information about post-war Germany, including correspondence and reports on the government, U.S. aid to West Germany, and other political and international relations. Surpassing the scope of the State Department’s Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany, February 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for the Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) (FRG) for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Germany: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Federal Republic of Germany: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963 contains a wealth of information about post-war Germany, including correspondence and reports on the government, U.S. aid to West Germany, and other political and international relations. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Germany: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Germany, February 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for Germany for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the filing system included in this edition are AID (Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The documents consist primarily of reports of meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; cables sent and received by diplomatic personnel; newspaper summaries, translations, and clippings; draft proposals of treaties and proclamations; speeches and aide-memoire; and reports and statistics on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, 1960-January 1963, Foreign Affairs contain documents and correspondence related to Mexico-U.S. relations and Mexican relations with other countries. The U.S. state Department Central files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection contains thousands of pages of primary documents, arranged topically and chronologically on many vital subjects, with a special focus on political relations between Mexico and other countries.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department’s Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, 1960—January 1963; Internal Affairs, provides researchers with detailed, primary source historical information on the events and influences impacting Mexican domestic policy in the early 1960s.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, February 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for Mexico for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Panama: Subject-Numeric Files, 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Panama, Subject-Numeric Files, 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs contains primary source information about the internal and external political affairs of Panama, particularly as it relates to United States foreign policy. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). This collection consists generally of cables and letters sent and received by United States diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between United States and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and economic affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, South America: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, South America, 1960-January 1963 contains information on the internal and external political situation in this region. The files are arranged according to the State Department Decimal Filing System, 1950-1963. The subjects from the filing system included in this edition are decimal numbers 720, 820, and 920 (Latin American internal affairs) and decimal numbers 620 and 611 (Latin American foreign affairs). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspapers clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union: Foreign Affairs, 1960-January 1963
This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union, 1960-January 1963, Foreign Affairs contain documents and correspondence related to USSR-U.S. relations and to the USSR's relations with other countries. The U.S. State Department Central files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection contains thousands of pages of primary documents, arranged topically and chronologically on many vital subjects, with a special focus on the internal workings of the USSR.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union: Internal Affairs, 1960-January 1963
This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union, 1960-January 1963, Internal Affairs contain documents and correspondence related to USSR-U.S. relations and internal USSR political and national defense affairs. The U.S. State Department Central files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection contains thousands of pages of primary documents, arranged topically and chronologically on many vital subjects, with a special focus on the internal workings of the USSR.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1963-1966, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union, February 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for the Soviet Union for the period between February 1963 and 1966. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union: Subject-Numeric Files, February 1967-1969, Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs
The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Soviet Union, 1967-1969, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs consists of the Central Files for the Soviet Union for the period between 1967 and 1969. The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; transcripts of speeches; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.
