Digital National Security Archive unlocks a vast trove of important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.
Working in collaboration with the National Security Archive to preserve and widen access to this significant material, ProQuest has created a far-reaching, curated collection of U.S. official documents.
The digitized documents are made available in over 60 topic-based collections, with two new collections added each year. The curation of each collection is overseen by subject-area scholars to ensure the material provides the most discerning coverage of the topic.
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library, located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C., which provides unprecedented public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
