This digital archive is sure to receive rave reviews from those wanting to know more about behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film, and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is available in five separate collections:
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 2: Film and Television
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 3: Film and Television, Part 2
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 4: Music - Folk, Rock & Hip Hop
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 5: Video Gaming
The collections are ideal for scholars studying:
- The economics of the entertainment industry
- Production, marketing and reception of films or music albums
- Factors surrounding the emergence of subcultures such as punk, two-tone or grunge
- Culture, politics and social change in dynamic eras such as the 1960s
Each magazine can be browsed cover-to-cover in full-page, full-text format. Users are able to search for original reviews, interviews, industry news, listings, charts and features relating to the full range of popular media using advanced search and retrieval functionality.
- Includes key trade and mass-market consumer magazines – weekly and monthly issues
- A combined total of around 3.5 million pages digitized in high-resolution color and fully searchable
- Complete backfiles support analysis of trends in popular culture across the entire 20th century
- When combined, covers the entire entertainment industry, including film, television, popular music, radio, theatre, and performing arts, with a focus on the US and the UK
- Cross-searchable with historical databases on the all-new ProQuest platform
Titles include:
- American Film (US, 1975-1992)
- Back Stage (US, 1960-2000)
- The Beat (US, 1988-2000)
- Broadcasting / Broadcasting & Cable (US, 1931-2000)
- Billboard (US, 1894-2000)
- Boxoffice (US, 1920-2000)
- Broadcast (UK, 1960-2000)
- Contrast (UK, 1961-1965)
- Disc (UK, 1958-1975)
- Film Weekly (UK, 1928-1939)
- Independent Film Journal / The Film Journal / Film Journal International (US, 1937-2000)
- Mixmag (UK, 1983-2000)
- Musician (US, 1976-1999)
- Muzik (UK, 1995-2003)
- Picturegoer (UK, 1911-1960)
- Rave (UK, 1964-1970)
- R&R / Radio & Records (US, 1973-2000)
- Reggae and African Beat (1982-1988)
- Screen International (UK, 1976-2000)
- Spin (US, 1985-2000)
- The Beat (US, 1988-2000)
- The Stage (UK, 1880-2000)
- Uncut (UK, 1997-2000)
- Variety (US, 1905-2000)
- Vox (UK, 1990-1999)
