Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Content Types: books, court documents, government documents, legal proceedings, professional correspondence, reports, statistics, transcripts, and more.
Subjects: border conditions, contract labor, deportation, government investigations, investigative reports, human trafficking, Immigration and Naturalization Service, labor, official corruption, public health, smuggling, undocumented immigrants, and more.
Keyword Search Examples: Angel Island, border, border patrol, Chinese Exclusion Laws, Ellis Island, Industrial Workers of the World, medical examination, Mexican Revolution, railroads, Tongs.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 1: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1906-1913
This collection contains a large number of documents that provides a dramatic portrayal of the struggles of Chinese, Japanese, and other Asian aliens to immigrate into the United States--legally or illegally--at the same time that agents of the Bureau of Immigration and Naturalization, later the Immigration and Naturalization Service, sought to prevent illegal immigration and Congress passed laws to restrict the number of Asians entering the country.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 1: Supplement: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1898-1941
This collection contains a large number of documents that provide a dramatic portrayal of the struggles of Chinese, Japanese, and other Asian groups to immigrate into the United States--legally or illegally--at the same time that agents of the Bureau of Immigration and Naturalization, later the Immigration and Naturalization Service, sought to prevent illegal immigration and Congress passed laws to restrict the number of Asians entering the country.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 2: Mexican Immigration, 1906-1930
This collection is comprised of approximately 17,000 pages of U.S. Bureau of Immigration case files that offer substantial information on Mexican immigration from 1900 to 1932, during a period when the Mexican-born population of the United States grew from 103,000 to over 1,400,000. The Mexican Revolution, job opportunities during World War I, and long-term transformations in U.S. industry and agriculture all contributed to Mexican immigration to the United States during this time period. Collection materials document the influx of Mexican immigrants across the borders of Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California, as well as immigrants from other countries who also entered the United States by way of Mexico.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 3: Ellis Island, 1900-1933
This third part of History Vault's Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) series contains the case files and related correspondence of the U.S. Bureau of Immigration during the period of the greatest inflow of immigrants through the Ellis Island processing facility in upper New York harbor.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 4: European Investigations, 1898-1936
This collection contains a large number of documents on European immigration to the United States. Although the records span the years 1898 through 1936, the bulk of the edition concentrates on the period from 1903 through 1912. The majority of the materials are investigative reports on European immigration.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 5: Prostitution and White Slavery, 1902-1933
This fifth part of History Vault's Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) series provides a large set of primary source materials on the efforts of the federal government, specifically agents of the Bureau of Immigration and Naturalization (later the Immigration and Naturalization Service), to support the anti-prostitution crusade during the early years of the 20th century.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files, Part 6: Suppression of Aliens, 1906-1930
This sixth part of History Vault's Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) series contains an invaluable collection of documents on the suppression of aliens in the early 20th century. Most of the material consists of specific case files and focuses on the years 1917-1918, when a concerted push against suspected anarchists and other "undesirable" aliens took place. The focus of the records is on Italian and Russian immigrants in the cities of Milwaukee, Boston, Cleveland, and San Francisco.
Voices from Ellis Island: An Oral History of American Immigration
This collection contains a large number of oral histories of immigrants who underwent examination and processing at the Ellis Island facility in upper New York harbor. The National Park Service in cooperation with the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation conducted lengthy interviews with 185 persons who either immigrated through, or worked at, Ellis Island during the peak of mass migration to the United States. The histories were conducted during 1984-1985. Descriptive information for each interview includes the country of origin, place where the immigrant first settled, and alternate spellings or previous versions of the immigrant's name.
