The centerpiece of this module is President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files. Roosevelt's Office Files constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. They highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of the President and his administration. Roosevelt's policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were all based on both classified and nonclassified information that he received and digested from all levels of government and the public. The office files represent the materials deemed especially important by the President on the basis of content and source. Major topics covered in the files are the Great Depression, the New Deal, America's involvement in World War II, the internal workings of the Roosevelt administration, and Roosevelt's personal leadership style. Several additional collections round out this module. These collections are: FBI Reports of the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House; Civilian Conservation Corps Press Releases; Records of the Committee on Economic Security; Department of Treasury records; and a special set of documentary records on the Roosevelt Presidency covering 50 important episodes and themes of the Roosevelt presidency.
Content Types: books and reports, cables, government documents, legislation, memoranda, newspaper clippings, notes, oral histories, pamphlets, photographs, press releases, professional correspondence, resolutions, speeches, telegrams, and more.
Subjects: banks and banking, defense industries, economic policy, elections, employment, foreign military forces, foreign relations, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, gold, industrial production, labor, law, national defense, social programs, taxation, wages, World War II, and more.
Keyword Search Examples: Adolf Hitler, Agricultural Adjustment Act, Allied, Allied Control Commissions, American Federation of Labor, Axis, Civil Works Administration, Communist Party, Congress of Industrial Organizations, Eleanor Roosevelt, Ford, Huey P. Long, John L. Lewis, League of Nations, National Industrial Recovery Act, Nazi, Securities Act, United Mine Workers, Winston Churchill
Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidency
The Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidency provides an in-depth, behind-the-scenes look at the Roosevelt administration from 1933 to 1945. The documents in this collection are organized into fifty separate series (listed below), with the folders in each series organized in chronological order. Each folder comprises of one document and possible attachments. This collection covers the administration's handling of affairs both domestic and abroad, and covers a wide range of topics including but not limited to: New Deal programs and legislation (Works Progress Administration, National Recovery Administration, the Social Security Act, the Fair Labor Standards Act, etc.); J. Edgar Hoover and domestic surveillance; racial inequality in the U.S.; presidential elections; U.S. foreign relations with Japan, the United Kingdom, the Soviet Union; the Spanish Civil War; the Morgenthau Plan; and the Tehran, Bretton Woods, Dumbarton Oaks, and Yalta Conferences.
FBI Reports of the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House
FBI Reports of the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House contains FBI memoranda, correspondence, and reports on domestic and international topics of interest during 1939-1945 of the Franklin Roosevelt presidency. The reports cover such topics as American Communist Party activities, defense plant labor strikes, Axis espionage and propaganda activities in the United States and Latin America, FBI national defense activities, FBI intelligence coordination with the Office of Naval Intelligence and the Military Intelligence Division of the War Department, and the European military and political situation. Much of the correspondence is between FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover and President Roosevelt's advisors Brigadier General Edwin M. Watson and Harry Hopkins. The files also include articles and newspaper clippings.
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945, Part 1: Safe and Confidential Files
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. These files were maintained by President Roosevelt's personal secretary, Marguerite "Missy" Lehand, and, after 1941, by Grace Tully, and highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of President Roosevelt and his administration. His policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were based on information, both classified and unclassified, that he received and digested from all levels of government and from the public. These office files represent the materials that the president deemed especially important due to their content and authorship. These office files offer scholars invaluable insights into Franklin D. Roosevelt, the man and his administrative style.
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945, Part 2: Diplomatic Correspondence File
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. These files were maintained by President Roosevelt's personal secretary, Marguerite "Missy" Lehand, and, after 1941, by Grace Tully, and highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of President Roosevelt and his administration. His policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were based on information, both classified and unclassified, that he received and digested from all levels of government and from the public. These office files represent the materials that the president deemed especially important due to their content and authorship. These office files offer scholars invaluable insights into Franklin D. Roosevelt, the man and his administrative style.
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945, Part 3: Departmental Correspondence File
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. These files were maintained by President Roosevelt's personal secretary, Marguerite "Missy" Lehand, and, after 1941, by Grace Tully, and highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of President Roosevelt and his administration. His policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were based on information, both classified and unclassified, that he received and digested from all levels of government and from the public. These office files represent the materials that the president deemed especially important due to their content and authorship. These office files offer scholars invaluable insights into Franklin D. Roosevelt, the man and his administrative style.
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945, Part 4: Subject Files
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945 constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. These files were maintained by President Roosevelt's personal secretary, Marguerite "Missy" Lehand, and, after 1941, by Grace Tully, and highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of President Roosevelt and his administration. His policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were based on information, both classified and unclassified, that he received and digested from all levels of government and from the public. These office files represent the materials that the president deemed especially important due to their content and authorship. These office files offer scholars invaluable insights into Franklin D. Roosevelt, the man and his administrative style.
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945, Part 5: The John Franklin Carter Files on German Nazi Party Members
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945constitute the heart and soul of the administrative record of the Roosevelt White House. These files were maintained by President Roosevelt's personal secretary, Marguerite "Missy" Lehand, and, after 1941, by Grace Tully, and highlight the domestic and foreign concerns of President Roosevelt and his administration. His policies, responses to crises, and plans for the future were based on information, both classified and unclassified, that he received and digested from all levels of government and from the public. These office files represent the materials that the president deemed especially important due to their content and authorship. These office files offer scholars invaluable insights into Franklin D. Roosevelt, the man and his administrative style.
Records of the Civilian Conservation Corps: Division of Planning and Public Relations, Press Releases, April 1933-December 1941
Records of the Civilian Conservation Corps: Division of Planning and Public Relations, Press Releases, April 1933-December 1941contains a large and valuable set of primary source materials on the establishment, operations, and accomplishments of the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). The documentation consists entirely of press releases, many of which are extensively detailed.
Records of the Committee on Economic Security: Planning for a Social Security System, 1934-1935
Records of the Committee on Economic Security: Planning for a Social Security System,1934-1935 covers the brief but productive existence of an advisory body tasked by President Franklin D. Roosevelt with recommending measures at the height of the Great Depression to ensure the economic security of all Americans. President Roosevelt created the committee by executive order in June of 1934, and the committee submitted its final report and recommendations to the president in January of 1935.
U.S. National Economy: Unpublished Documentary Collections from the U.S. Department of the Treasury: Roosevelt Administration-Truman Administration, 1933-1953
This collection provides researchers with detailed insight into the inner workings of the Treasury Department during the Roosevelt and Truman administrations, 1933-1953. The collection is composed entirely of press releases that are organized by Treasury secretary and administration: William H. Woodin and Henry Morgenthau Jr. serving under President Roosevelt; and Morgenthau, Fred M. Vinson, and John W. Snyder serving under President Truman. The Treasury Department of the Roosevelt and Truman administrations provided oversight for numerous agencies, including the Coast Guard, Bureau of Customs, Alcohol Tax Unit, Bureau of Internal Revenue, Bureau of Narcotics, Public Health Service, and the Secret Service, and had a wide array of responsibilities, some of which are discussed below.
