During World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War, the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department assigned leading scholars to write special, classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. At the time, the reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions, and, now, as part of History Vault, the over 3,500 reports in this module provide an excellent source for studying the major areas of the World during the period from 1941 to 1961. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series or the armed forces' official histories. Reports on Asia focus on political, industrial, and military affairs of wartime Japan, the occupation of Japan by the U.S. following World War II, and the beginnings of the economic revitalization of Japan in the mid-1950s; the Nationalist-Communist struggle for China and Mao's consolidation of power in the 1950s, independence for India; the Korean War; and the outbreak of war in Indochina. Topics covered in the reports on Europe include the German war effort, occupation and division of Germany, reconstruction of Europe under the Marshall Plan, de Gaulle and the Fifth Republic, formation of the Common Market, and Soviet control of Eastern Europe. A series of reports on the Soviet Union for 1941 to 1961 covers Soviet participation in World War II; the cold war with the West; the death of Stalin; and the formation of the Warsaw Pact. There are also numerous reports on the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America from 1941 through 1961. Major developments covered include Palestine, African nationalism as well as economic stagnation and famine, Communist movements in South America and U.S. intervention in Central America.
Subjects: Axis Powers, Cambodia, China, communism, elections, foreign relations, foreign trade, Germany, Japan, Latin America, Nikita Khrushchev, labor and labor unions, Nazism, Nigeria, petroleum, Philippines, propaganda, Saudi Arabia, Soviet Union, trade agreements, treaties, World War II, and more.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 01: Japan and Its Occupied Territories During World War II
The collection Japan and Its Occupied Territories During World War II is the first of three OSS collections centered on Japan and its neighbors. Documents date from 1941 to 1947.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 02: Postwar Japan, Korea, and Southeast Asia, 1945-1949
The collection Postwar Japan, Korea, and Southeast Asia is the second of three OSS collections centered on Japan and its neighbors. Documents date from 1944 to 1950.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 03: China and India, 1941-1949
The bulk of the reports in this collection focus on China and India in the 1940s. The 1950s into 1961 are covered in a second OSS collection, accession number 002800, also published in this History Vault module.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 04: Germany and Its Occupied Territories During World War II
This collection is one of three collections in the OSS series to focus on Europe, from 1941 through 1961. Key topics include the German war effort, occupation and division of Germany, reconstruction of Europe under the Marshall Plan, de Gaulle and the Fifth Republic, formation of the Common Market, and Soviet control of Eastern Europe. With over a thousand reports contained in the three collections, a sampling includes: German Defensive Capabilities (1943), Nazi Master Plan: Criminal Conspiracy against the Jews (1945), The Will of Western European Countries to Resist Aggression (1949), Long-Range Economic Prospects of the U.K. (1955), and A Critical Appraisal of Western Unity (1959).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 05: Postwar Europe, 1945-1949
This collection is one of three collections in the OSS series to focus on Europe, from 1941 through 1961. Key topics include the German war effort, occupation and division of Germany, reconstruction of Europe under the Marshall Plan, de Gaulle and the Fifth Republic, formation of the Common Market, and Soviet control of Eastern Europe. With over a thousand reports contained in the three collections, a sampling includes: German Defensive Capabilities (1943), Nazi Master Plan: Criminal Conspiracy against the Jews (1945), The Will of Western European Countries to Resist Aggression (1949), Long-Range Economic Prospects of the U.K. (1955), and A Critical Appraisal of Western Unity (1959).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 06: Soviet Union, 1941-1949
This collection is one of two collections in the OSS series to focus on Soviet internal affairs and international relations, from 1941 through 1961. Key topics include Soviet participation in World War II; the Cold War with the West; the death of Stalin; and the formation of the Warsaw Pact. More than 400 titles are reproduced, a few of which are listed here: The Russian Winter Offensive, 1942-1943 (1943), Trends in the Status of the Russian Worker (1943), Capabilities and Intentions of the U.S.S.R. in the Postwar Period (1945), The Purge on the Intellectual Front in the U.S.S.R. (1946), Alleged Revolt in Kazakhstan (1952), The Position of Jews in the U.S.S.R. (1953), Soviet Adjustments to Stalin's Death (1953), and Soviet Account of the U-2 incident (1960).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 07: Middle East, 1941-1949
Middle East, 1941-1949 is one of four collections in the OSS series to focus on the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America, from 1941 through 1961. Many developments are covered across these reports, from the Palestinian issue to oil concessions, African nationalism to economic stagnation and famine, Communist movements in South America to U.S. intervention in Central America. A few of the hundreds of titles are listed here: Zionism: Aims and Prospects (1942), Iranian Oil as a Potential Source of Political Conflict (1944), Increased Communist Threat in Iran (1951), Indigenous African Political Systems (1944), The Outlook for the Horn of Africa (1958), Economic Crisis in the Congo (1960), South Africa in Crisis (1960), and The Communist Movement in Chile (1955).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 08: Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia, and the Far East, Supplement, 1950-1961
The collection Japan and Its Occupied Territories During World War II is the second of three OSS collections centered on Japan and its neighbors. Documents date from 1944 to 1950.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 09: China and India, Supplement, 1950-1961
The bulk of the reports in this collection focus on China and India in the 1950s through 1961. The 1940s are covered in an OSS collection, accession number 002799, also published in this History Vault module.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 10: Europe, Supplement, 1950-1961
This collection is one of three collections in the OSS series to focus on Europe, from 1941 through 1961. Key topics include the German war effort, occupation and division of Germany, reconstruction of Europe under the Marshall Plan, de Gaulle and the Fifth Republic, formation of the Common Market, and Soviet control of Eastern Europe. With over a thousand reports contained in the three collections, a sampling includes: German Defensive Capabilities (1943), Nazi Master Plan: Criminal Conspiracy against the Jews (1945), The Will of Western European Countries to Resist Aggression (1949), Long-Range Economic Prospects of the U.K. (1955), and A Critical Appraisal of Western Unity (1959).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 11: Soviet Union, Supplement, 1950-1961
This collection is one of two collections in the OSS series to focus on Soviet internal affairs and international relations, from 1941 through 1961. Key topics include Soviet participation in World War II; the Cold War with the West; the death of Stalin; and the formation of the Warsaw Pact. More than 400 titles are reproduced, a few of which are listed here: The Russian Winter Offensive, 1942-1943 (1943), Trends in the Status of the Russian Worker (1943), Capabilities and Intentions of the U.S.S.R. in the Postwar Period (1945), The Purge on the Intellectual Front in the U.S.S.R. (1946), Alleged Revolt in Kazakhstan (1952), The Position of Jews in the U.S.S.R. (1953), Soviet Adjustments to Stalin's Death (1953), and Soviet Account of the U-2 incident (1960).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 12: Middle East, Supplement, 1950-1961
This collection is one of four collections in the OSS series to focus on the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America, from 1941 through 1961. Virtually every major development is covered: from the Palestinian issue to oil concessions, from African nationalism to economic stagnation and famine, from Communist movements in South America to U.S. intervention in Central America. A few of the hundreds of titles are listed here: Zionism: Aims and Prospects (1942), Iranian Oil as a Potential Source of Political Conflict (1944), Increased Communist Threat in Iran (1951), Indigenous African Political Systems (1944), The Outlook for the Horn of Africa (1958), Economic Crisis in the Congo (1960), South Africa in Crisis (1960), and The Communist Movement in Chile (1955).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 13: Africa, 1941-1961
Africa, 1941-1961 is one of four collections in the OSS series to focus on the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America, from 1941 through 1961. Virtually every major development is covered: from the Palestinian issue to oil concessions, from African nationalism to economic stagnation and famine, from Communist movements in South America to U.S. intervention in Central America. A few of the hundreds of titles are listed here: Zionism: Aims and Prospects (1942), Iranian Oil as a Potential Source of Political Conflict (1944), Increased Communist Threat in Iran (1951), Indigenous African Political Systems (1944), The Outlook for the Horn of Africa (1958), Economic Crisis in the Congo (1960), South Africa in Crisis (1960), and The Communist Movement in Chile (1955).
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 14: Latin America, 1941-1961
This collection is one of four collections in the OSS series to focus on the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America, from 1941 through 1961. Virtually every major development is covered: from the Palestinian issue to oil concessions, from African nationalism to economic stagnation and famine, from Communist movements in South America to U.S. intervention in Central America. A few of the hundreds of titles are listed here: Zionism: Aims and Prospects (1942), Iranian Oil as a Potential Source of Political Conflict (1944), Increased Communist Threat in Iran (1951), Indigenous African Political Systems (1944), The Outlook for the Horn of Africa (1958), Economic Crisis in the Congo (1960), South Africa in Crisis (1960), and The Communist Movement in Chile (1955).
