Primary Sources Access – Foundation (Plan E): Revolution and Protest Online

Throughout history, revolution and protest movements have demanded the world’s attention and driven political and social change. To understand the impact and aftermath of these events, it is imperative to shine a historical lens on the ideologies, origins, goals and stakeholders that drove them. Revolution and Protest Online is a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. This easily searchable collection examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18^th century through the 21st century. This collection includes personal papers, organizational and government documents, journals, books, reports, videos, monographs, speeches, and images. Content is provided by preeminent historical archives as well as video partners. The collection also provides links to websites that offer background for the curated primary sources and documentaries.

Content Type: books, case studies, diaries and memoirs, documentaries, ephemera, essays, field recordings, government/institutional documents, interviews, letters, maps, meeting minutes, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, press releases, speeches, and more.

Global Event and Area: American Revolution (1776), Arab Revolt (1916-1919), Arab Spring (2010-2011), Argentine Revolution (1966-1973), Chile -- Pinochet Regime (1973-1990), Chinese Revolution of 1911, Chinese Revolution of 1949 and the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976), Cuban Revolutions (1898), Egyptian Revolution (1952), European Revolutions of 1848, French Revolution (1789-1799), Great Syrian Revolt (1925-1927), India Civil Disobedience and Independence Movement (1930-1947), Iranian Revolutions (1953-1979), Mexican Revolution (1910-1920), Nicaraguan Revolution (1962-1990), Russian Revolution (1905 and 1917), Salvadoran Civil War (1979-1992), Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), Turkish Revolt (1919), Zanzibar Revolution (1964), Zapatista Movement in Mexico (1980-current), and more. 

Topics and Key Word Searches: abolitionists, armed forces, civil wars, communism, imperialism, human rights, insurgency, international relations, labor force, military maneuvers, peace processes, political demonstrations, prisoners, propaganda, radicalism, rebellions, refugees, revolutions, riots, social movements, wages and salaries, war, weapons, and more.