Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners.
The Plantation Records in Part 1 documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation Records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners. Business records include ledger books, payroll books, cotton ginning books, work rules, account books, and receipts. Personal papers include family correspondence, diaries, and wills. As business owners, the commodities produced by plantation owners--rice, cotton, sugar, tobacco, hemp, and others--accounted for more than half of the nation's exports. The records presented in this module come from the South Caroliniana Library at the University of South Carolina; Maryland Historical Society; Howard-Tilton Memorial Library at Tulane University; Louisiana State Museum; and the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries. Major collections in this module include the James Henry Hammond Papers from University of South Carolina; Hollyday Family Papers, Susanna Warfield Diaries, and Martha Forman Diaries from the Maryland Historical Society; Valcour Aime Slave Records from the Louisiana State Museum; John McDonogh Papers from Tulane University. Key collections from the Louisiana State University Libraries include collections the Palfrey Family Papers, Weeks Family Papers, Albert Batchelor Papers, Kenner Family Papers, Metoyer Family Papers, and the Butler Family Collections. Notable collections from the Virginia Historical Society include Tayloe Family Papers, as well as collections documenting the major geographic regions of Virginia: Northern Neck, Tidewater, Central Piedmont, Southside, Northern Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley.
The records presented in Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records: Part 2, come from the holdings of the University of Virginia and Duke University. One of the extraordinary collections from the University of Virginia, especially for the study of slavery, is the papers of General John Hartwell Cocke. The papers of the Berkeley family from 1653 to 1865 are exceptional for the 18th and 19th centuries on such matters as land and crop sales, slave and medical accounts, and family and overseers' correspondence. The massive collection from the wealthy Bruce family is valuable for overseer correspondence and business records as well as for personal correspondence, women's diaries, and slave records. Other collections from University of Virginia include correspondence from overseers; documents on slave sales, runaway slaves, discipline, diet, health, and the work loads of adults and children; plantation management, and westward migration to Arkansas and Louisiana prior to the Civil War. Major collections from the Duke University holdings document plantation life in the Alabama, as well as South Carolina, Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, and Maryland. Records from Alabama and Mississippi depict the opening of the southern frontier in response to the cotton boom of the early 19th century. Among the exceptional collections are the Henry Watson papers and the Clement Claiborne Clay papers from Alabama, and the John Knight and Duncan McLaurin collections from the Natchez area in Mississippi. Another major collection from the Duke holdings is the William Patterson Smith Collection. William Patterson Smith, along with his brother Thomas operated a mercantile firm in Gloucester, Virginia.
Content Types: broadsides, commonplace books, diaries, ephemera, estates and wills, land records, legal documents, letters, illustrations, maps, merchant and shipping documents, newspaper clippings, notebooks, photographs, plantation accounting ledgers, plantation journals, promissory notes, property records, slavery records, speeches, tax records, telegrams, tradesmen's bills and receipts, and more.
Subjects: Abolitionist Movement, agriculture, American Revolution, Civil War, colonial politics, emancipation, Great Migration, free Black Americans, law, plantations, Reconstruction, slavery, trans-Atlantic trade, War of 1812, women and plantation management, and more.
Keyword Search Examples: abolition, African Colonization Movement, Confederate army, cotton, runaway slave, sugar, tobacco, wages, William T. Johnson
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series A: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 1: The Papers of James Henry Hammond, 1795-1865
The Papers of James Henry Hammond. James Henry Hammond (1807-1864) was a leading statesman and planter of Antebellum South Carolina, serving in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate and as governor of South Carolina. Hammond was a leading proponent of scientific agriculture in the South. These extensive papers provide information on planting cotton and other crops, including vegetables, grapes, and fruit trees; education; family life; the practice of law; politics; and slave management. The collection also includes miscellaneous business papers; papers of Hammond's brother Marcus Claudius Marcellus Hammond (1814-1876); and correspondence and other papers of Hammond's sons, Harry (1832-1916) and Edward Spann (1834-1922). Among the volumes are selections of his original poetry, student notes while attending South Carolina College, a medical diary of his European tour, autobiographical thoughts and recollections, scrapbooks of published poetry and political letters; a letterbook (1831-1833) regarding politics and the organization of his plantation; a two-volume plantation journal (1831-1887); two stud books (1830-1840) with records relating to his horses and their winnings; volumes of crop statistics and orchard records; plantation, personal, and travel account books; and lumber and canal records. The 1860 census listed 21 slaves living at Hammond's home plantation, Redcliffe, and another 294 living at Silver Bluff plantation. Silver Bluff plantation records were kept by his son Paul F. Hammond after 1860.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series A: Selections from the South Carolina Library, University of South Carolina, Part 2: Miscellaneous Collections
This collection contains correspondence and documents from South Carolina plantations starting in the late 17th century and continuing through the conclusion of the Civil War. Documents dated after 1865 are not indexed unless found in bound volumes. All documents from bound volumes are included if the starting date of the volume is before 1865. The majority of documents in this collection are correspondence related to the business and operation of cotton plantations, though some collections include sugar and other types of plantations. Documents appear from many of the most prominent and well-known South Carolina families, including the Laws, the DeSaussures, the Colhouns (later the Calhoun family), the Furmans, the Hammonds and the Hamptons. Individual family collections begin with state and local maps and, in addition to correspondence, contain plantation journals, plantation accounting ledgers, and slavery records.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series D: Selections from the Maryland Historical Society
This collection focuses on plantation life in Maryland and surrounding states. The largest group of records are the Hollyday Family Papers (Hollyday Family Papers, 1607-1905, Queen Anne's and Talbot Counties, Maryland) . The collection also includes material from fourteen other sets of documents housed at the Maryland Historical Society, including:
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series H: Selections from Tulane University and the Louisiana State Museum Archives
This series of Antebellum plantation documents includes a variety of smaller collections from Tulane University, the Howard-Tilton Library, and the Louisiana State Archives. Each of these collections incorporates a variety of documents, usually involving a family or plantation at its center. These documents span the late eighteenth to the late nineteenth centuries, and include ledgers, personal letters, business correspondence, and other documents pertaining to the social and business life of plantation owners and their families. A substantial portion of the documents also shed light on the other residents of Antebellum plantations--slaves. As most of the documents pertain to the areas immediately around New Orleans, Louisiana, they also demonstrate the interactions between plantation owners, merchants, free Black Americans, and slaves.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations
Series I, Part 1 of the Antebellum Plantations collections consists of smaller collections of materials gathered from various Louisiana archives. Most of these collections are the correspondence and plantation business documents from families who owned or operated sugar plantations in Louisiana. The earliest documents in the series come from the colonial period, when Louisiana was a territory of Spain and then France. The latest documents involve the period immediately following the Civil War. The majority of the documents come from this later period, focusing on the decades immediately leading up to the Civil War. Many serve to chronicle the daily life of Louisiana sugar plantations.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 2: Louisiana and Other Cotton Plantations
This collection contains correspondence and documents from Louisiana cotton and sugar plantations starting in the late 17th century and continuing through the conclusion of the Civil War. Documents dated after 1865 are not indexed unless found in bound volumes. All documents from bound volumes are included if the starting date of the volume is before 1865. The majority of documents in this collection are correspondence related to the business and operation of cotton plantations, though some collections include sugar and other types of plantations. Documents appear from many of the most prominent and well-known Louisiana families, including the Evans, the Mathews, Thomas O. Moore and family, and Lewis Stirling. Stirling owned several plantations in Louisiana, including his home Wakefield Plantation and appears in other History Vault collections. Individual family collections begin with collection descriptions and generally include genealogical information about family members.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 3: The Natchez Area
The Natchez Area antebellum plantations collection includes records of some thirteen planter families centered around Natchez, Mississippi. These records illuminate a wide range of subjects related to the daily social life and business management of Southern plantations, including the planters and their families, the slaves who provided the basis for capital accumulation, and social and economic networks that extended far beyond Natchez from remote, isolated plantations in Mississippi and Louisiana to factors and commission agents in New Orleans and New York, to the British market for cotton at the Liverpool docks, and to sometimes extensive financial, political, and educational connections to the Northern states.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 6: David Weeks and Family Collection
The Weeks Family Papers trace the personal and business relationships of several interrelated families of Southern Louisiana sugar planters from the late eighteenth century through the end of the Civil War. In addition to the family of David Weeks, the collection includes records from the Moore, Conrad, Thruston, Prescott, and Palfrey families. With landholdings in St. Mary, Vermillion, and what later became Iberia, Parishes, these families represented Louisiana's planter elite. Arranged chronologically, the collection intermingles personal, business, and political correspondence with legal documents and business records.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 4: Barrow, Bisland, Bowman, and Other Collections
Barrow, Bisland, Bowman, and Other Collections. Contains the records of free black barber and diarist William T. Johnson and family of Natchez, and the Bisland-Barrow-Bowman-Turnbull-Allain-Lyons family of Louisiana traders and planters.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 5: Butler Family Collections
The Butler family collection concerns the family of Judge Thomas Butler (1785-1847), a Louisiana sugar planter, Louisiana District Court Judge, and U.S. congressman. The collection, made up of seven interrelated series, contains documents dating from 1663 to 1950, and includes correspondence, diaries, business and plantation records, legal documents, photographs, poetry, essays, printed material, and ephemera. Women's correspondence plays a prominent role in this collection as do the day-to-day records of plantation operations, such as ledgers and daybooks.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 1: Tayloe Family, 1650-1970
The Tayloe Family Papers represent one of the largest single collections of primary sources on the Antebellum South in ProQuest's History Vault. Comprised of the personal and business papers of the Tayloe family, this collection spans over two hundred years of American history. The Tayloe family originally arrived in central Virginia at the end of the 17th century, but over the next century expanded their property to include plantations and land in Northern Virginia, Alabama, Maryland, and the newly created capital of Washington, D.C. Each successive generation of the Tayloe family expanded the family's land, wealth, political power, and social prestige (for more information, see Biographical Notes below). The four smaller series that make up the Tayloe Papers are mostly comprised of personal and business correspondence. Also included are wills, plantation diaries, slave records, accounting ledgers, and legal documents.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 2: Northern Neck of Virginia; also Maryland
The impact of antebellum southern plantations on the lives of their black and white inhabitants, as well as on the political, economic, and cultural life of the South as a whole, is one of the most fascinating and controversial problems of present-day American historical research. Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 2: Northern Neck of Virginia; also Maryland supplies researchers with vital primary source documents compiled by the plantation owners about the operation of plantations and offers a glimpse into their personal and professional lives.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 3: Other Tidewater Virginia
This collection comprises more than 840 folders of documents and some 37,000 pages of material. Principal document types found within the collection include: plantation diaries; plantation account books, receipts, and financial records; personal and plantation business correspondence; property records, deeds, and land transactions; legal records and disputes (often on matters of inheritance, guardianship, and trusteeship); commonplace books, other writings, and artists' sketch books; the medical records of physician-planters; records of school teachers and the education of children of planter families; travel journals; and genealogical notes.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 4: Central Piedmont Virginia
This collection encompasses some 54,000 documents from the period of 1672 to 1977, with the great bulk dating from the mid-Eighteenth through the third quarter of the Nineteenth Century. Planters, politicians, tradesmen, professionals, intellectuals, and advocates for and against slavery are among the central characters in a collection that encompasses many themes in Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century American history.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 5: Southside Virginia
This collection consists of Antebellum plantation documents from Southside Virginia. Collected by the Virginia Historical Society, these papers offer a rich account of plantation life in central Virginia from the 18th century through the Civil War. Plantation ledgers, account books, crop records, business and personal correspondence, and legal documents from dozens of families are included in this series. Also included are records of slaves' lives. The collection is organized by plantation or family, creating a series of sub-collections.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 6: Northern Virginia and Valley
This collection provides a remarkable glimpse into the social and economic lives of prominent plantation families in the northern Virginia Piedmont and the Valley of Virginia. The collection documents cover not only the Antebellum period, but also the Civil War years and afterward, in some cases extending into the 20th century.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations
The Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) of the Louisiana State University (LSU) Libraries contain extensive holdings of manuscripts, books, maps, prints, pamphlets, and periodicals documenting the region's culture and history. The manuscript section of the LLMVC dates back to 1935 when LSU history professor Edwin Davis started to acquire the papers of prominent families that had lived in the area. The LLMVC manuscript collection consists of over five thousand manuscript groups encompassing more than ten million items. The LLMVC's holdings relating to antebellum plantations, the Civil War, and the Reconstruction era are particularly strong. These holdings range from papers of individuals and families, to organizational records, to records of plantations, merchants, and financial institutions.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 2: Louisiana Cotton Plantations
This part of plantation records consists of fourteen manuscript collections on Louisiana cotton plantations from the holdings of the LLMVC, Hill Memorial Library, LSU. These collections are: Metoyer Family Papers; Adeleda Metoyer Papers; Auguste Metoyer Papers; Louis Metoyer Document; Norbert Badin Papers; Daniel Trotter Papers; Ozeme Fontenot and Family Papers; Joseph Plauche Papers; Alexander Blanche Papers; Good Hope Plantation Papers; Hubbard S. Bosley Papers; Henry Marston Family Papers; Abel John Norwood Papers; and Marcelin Tauzin Papers.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 3: Louisiana Sugar Plantations (Bayou Lafourche and Bayou Teche)
This collection consists of twelve manuscript collections from the holdings of the LLMVC, Hill Memorial Library, LSU. These collections cover the operation of Louisiana sugar plantations from the antebellum period through the early twentieth century, with a particular focus on the complicated transition from slavery to free labor, the negotiations between planters and laborers in making this transition, and the impact of this transition on Louisiana agriculture, the economy, and politics. The twelve collections in this edition are the William J. Minor and Family Papers; Baldwin and Co. Records; Alexandre DeClouet and Family Papers; Alexandre DeClouet Letter; Pugh-Williams-Mayes Family Papers; Josephine Nicholls Pugh Civil War Account; Robert Campbell Martin Jr. Papers; William W. Pugh and Family Plantation Records; Mrs. Mary W. Pugh Papers; Maximilien E. Boudreaux Family Papers; Francois Randon Ledger; and Joseph Savoy Family Papers.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 4: Mississippi Cotton Plantations
This collection consists of eleven manuscript collections from the holdings of the LLMVC, Hill Memorial Library, LSU. These collections cover the operation of Mississippi cotton plantations from the Civil War through the early twentieth century. The individual collections in this part are: Audley Clark Britton Family Papers; Capell Family Papers; Eli J. Capell Family Papers; Stephen Duncan Family Papers; Eggleston-Roach Papers; James A. Gillespie Family Papers; William Newton Mercer Papers; Joseph Addison Montgomery Papers; Pugh-Williams-Mayes Family Papers; Salisbury Plantation Papers; and Joseph D. Shields Papers. These collections were selected because they allow researchers to investigate the operation of the postbellum plantations as well as many other aspects of life during this period, including the experiences of African Americans and women, family matters, and political events.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 5: Albert A. Batchelor Papers
Albert A. Batchelor, a Confederate veteran and physician, owned several plantations in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. His holdings included Bella Vista plantation, Lakeside plantation, Phoenix plantation, Highland plantation, and Normandy plantation. This collection of the Albert A. Batchelor papers dates from 1860 to 1898 and is organized into two main series: a series of correspondence and business records and a series of bound volumes, including diaries, ledgers, cash books, and memorandum books. Batchelor's management of his plantations, particularly his relations with laborers and renters, as well as his dealings with commission merchants are the two major themes in this collection.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 6: Weeks Family Papers
This collections consists of the papers of two related Louisiana families: the Weeks family of Iberville Parish and the Palfrey family of St. Martin Parish.1 The Weeks Family Papers trace the lives of three generations of the Weeks family from 1866 to 1930. The largest portion of the collection documents the financial, business, and family life of William F. Weeks between the end of the Civil War and his death in 1895. The transition to a free labor economy, financial struggles in the 1880s and 1890s, and family life are the dominant themes in the Weeks Family Papers. The Palfrey Family Papers date from 1842 through 1918 and contain a small amount of correspondence on the first years of the Reconstruction Era, but this collection is most important because it includes two plantation diaries kept by William T. Palfrey from 1842 through 1868.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series C: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 1: Hammond Family Papers
This collection contains six manuscript series from the holdings at the South Caroliniana Library at the University of South Carolina. The documents follow the trajectory of James Henry Hammond's family after his death and the financial ruin of the Civil War, in documents dating from 1865 to 1935. The bulk of the collection focuses on the years between 1880 and 1910. In the first generation of papers the principal figures are Hammond's sons, Harry, Edward Spann, and Paul, who feuded with each other while struggling to support their families in the postwar years. In the second generation, Harry Hammond's daughters, Julia and Katharine, become the central characters of the collection as they wrestled to balance education, romance, and family obligation. The papers include account books, legal documents and wills, land deeds, store receipts, published and unpublished manuscripts, position essays, school examinations, medical reports, journals, newspaper clippings, telegrams, and correspondence.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series C: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 2: Selected Collections
This collection contains twenty manuscript series from the holdings at the South Caroliniana Library at the University of South Carolina, and includes substantial materials from the Eugene Whitefield Dabbs Papers, James Jonathan Lucas Papers, and Allston Family Papers . The documents mark the path of several South Carolina families following the upheaval of the Civil War, in papers dating from 1865 to 1949. The majority of documents focus on the years between 1880 and 1910. The papers include account books with laborers, financial ledgers, plantation diaries, store accounts, banking records, professional and personal correspondence, licenses, published materials, newspaper and catalog clippings, wills, mortgages, and deeds.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 1: Virginia Plantations
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 1: Virginia Plantations is a collection of primary source documents from twenty-nine Virginia plantations from the early eighteenth century and into the late nineteenth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 2: Virginia Plantations
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 2: Virginia Plantations is an impressive collection of papers from five prominent Virginia families: Berkeley, Gilliam, Barbour, Randolph, and Minor. Spanning the years 1536-1866, with most documents covering the Revolutionary War to the Civil War, these records illuminate nearly every aspect of plantation life. Not only business operations and daily labor routines, but family affairs, the roles of women, racial attitudes, relations between masters and slaves, politics, social and cultural life, and conditions during the Civil War. Divided into five sections by family, this collection contains financial accounts of plantations, inventories, agricultural journals, legal documents, medical accounts, personal and business correspondence, and diary writings.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 3: Virginia Plantations
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 3: Virginia Plantations is a collection of primary source documents from plantations and plantation-related business in Southside of Virginia, a large and variously defined area of the central-southern portion of the state. The collection includes the papers of some thirty-six planter families or plantation-related businesses together with a further twenty sets of records assembled by collectors and archivists in more recent years that relate to subject themes in Southside history. The great bulk of the collection (80 percent of the documents) concerns the Bruce family, the patriarchs of which were noted as the third-richest men in America for many years with both a complicated rise to wealth and a complicated legacy. While the bulk of the papers are from the nineteenth century, the dates span from the mid-eighteenth century to after the Civil War, extending infrequently into the early twentieth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 4: Cocke Family Papers
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 4: Cocke Family Papers is a collection divided into two parts: the Cocke Family Papers and the Bremo Recess Papers. The Cocke Family Papers are arranged into four series and span from 1725 to 1939 with the bulk of the collection spanning from 1800 to 1865. The first series of the Cocke Family Papers is correspondence, arranged chronologically. The second series is composed of miscellaneous papers, grouped roughly by subject. The third series in the Cocke Family Papers consists of bound volumes, which include cash books, account books, journals, and letterbooks. The fourth series comprises the diaries of Louisa Maxwell Holmes Cocke, John Hartwell Cocke's second wife, and reveal her intellectual and literary pursuits, interaction with slaves, and general details of daily life at Upper Bremo. The Bremo Recess Papers are arranged chronologically and span from 1689 to 1865. The series consists of business records, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and personal papers of the Cocke and Cabell families of Bremo Recess, located in Fluvanna County, Virginia. Like the Cocke Family Papers, the Bremo Recess Papers cover a wide range of topics, including agriculture, internal improvements, and politics. Many documents in the collection cover topics such as slavery, colonization, free Black Americans, and Reconstruction.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 5: Ambler Family Papers
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 5: Ambler Family Papers is a collection of primary source documents from the Ambler and Barbour families of Amherst and Orange Counties in Virginia from the mid-eighteenth century through the Civil War and into the early twentieth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 6: Virginia Plantations
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 6: Virginia Plantations is a collection of primary source documents obtained from Virginia plantations from the early seventeenth century and into the late twentieth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 1: The Deep South
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 1: The Deep South contains plantation business records, account books, slave lists, overseers' reports, diaries, private letters exchanged among family members and friends, and even an occasional letter written by a literate slave. They come mostly from the larger tobacco, cotton, sugar, and rice plantations, but a significant number survive from the more modest estates and smaller slaveholdings whose economic operations tended to be less specialized. These records illuminate not only business operations and day-to-day labor routines, but family affairs, the roles of women, racial attitudes, relations between masters and slaves, social and cultural life, the values shared by members of the planter class, and the tensions and anxieties that were inseparable from a slave society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 2: South Carolina and Georgia
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 2: South Carolina and Georgia is a collection of primary source documents from eighteen South Carolina and Georgia planter or planter-merchant families and plantations, and in one case a slave import register from a Georgia county in the 1820s. Among the records are names recognized as important figures in the history of the American South, politicians, civic and cultural leaders, signatories to key documents in the formation of the U.S., and one of America's most famous diarists and chroniclers of the Civil War; but no less interesting are the far more obscure figures: plantation overseers, freedmen and freedwomen, slaves enumerated as chattel, factors and merchants, and others. The records range from the second quarter of the eighteenth century through the Civil War and into the last decade of the nineteenth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 3: North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 3: North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia is a collection of primary source documents representing thirty-four North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia plantations, families, merchants, and other plantation-related entities. The collection contains plantation records consisting of business records, account books, slave lists, overseers' reports, diaries, private letters exchanged among family members and friends, and even an occasional letter written by a literate slave. They come mostly from the larger tobacco, cotton, sugar, and rice plantations, but a significant number survive from the more modest estates and smaller slaveholdings whose economic operations tended to be less specialized. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 4: North Carolina and Virginia
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 4: North Carolina and Virginia is a collection of primary source documents from twenty-five North Carolina and Virginia plantations from the mid-eighteenth century through the Civil War and into the early twentieth century. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 5: William Patterson Smith Collection
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 5: William Patterson Smith Collection includes some 20,000 pages of primary source documents from a Gloucester County, Virginia merchant and planter with additional interests in North Carolina. The impact of antebellum Southern plantations as economic and social systems was far reaching, extending far beyond the plantation fields and far beyond the Civil War; indeed they remain not as a historical footnote, but as consequences that continue to ripple in contemporary American society.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 1: Alabama and South Carolina Plantations
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 1: Alabama and South Carolina Plantations is a collection of primary source documents from eight Alabama and South Carolina plantations during the period from the Emancipation Proclamation in January 1863 to the Great Migration of Black Americans from the South to the North, Midwest, and West, which began in 1910.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 2: North Carolina and Virginia Plantations
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 2: North Carolina and Virginia Plantations compiles the records of sixteen tobacco and cotton plantations and store owners in North Carolina and Virginia during the period from the Emancipation Proclamation in January 1863 to the Great Migration of Black Americans from the South to the North, Midwest, and West, which began in 1910.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 3: Georgia and Florida Plantations
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 3: Georgia and Florida Plantations compiles the records of John Flannery and Company, a cotton factorage and commission merchant business based in Savannah, Georgia. Between 1867 and 1877, the company was known as L. J. Guilmartin and Company. In 1877, the company name changed to John Flannery and Company. This collection spans the period 1867-1912.
