Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

International Bibliography of Art (IBA)


Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(monet)

This will reveal all results with Monet in the abstract. 
Accession Number AN AN(356894)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.
Anywhere   france    

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.
Anywhere except full text NOFT NOFT(ceramics)     

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.
Author AU AU(maingon claire)     

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author; Look up available.
Cited Author CAU CAU(Barnes)     

Searches for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Document Title CTI CTI(Archaeology of East Asia)    

Search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Date CYR CYR(October 1987)    

Searches for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Title CPUB CPUB(Documenta Praehistorica)   

Searches for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(saatchi)      

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. 
Digital Object Identifiers DOI DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)      

Searches for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.
Document Feature  DF DF(illustrations)     

Searches for Physical description in an article such as Charts, Diagrams, Illustrations, Maps, Photographs.
Document Number AN AN(1713554)       

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).
Document Title TI TI(claude monet)    

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(essay)   

Finds specific document types such as article, review, news, interview…    see the limiter box in Advanced Search
International Standard Book Number ISBN ISBN(9780549687191)      

Looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Issue ISS ISS(8368)     

Searches the issue number of a resource. 
Language  LA LA(Spanish)       

Original language of the document. 
Location  LOC LOC(paris)     

Specific geographic area or location.
Monograph Title MTI MTI(impressionism)

Results show titles of monographs including the search term; more restricted than simply Document Title
Person  PER PER(dresser)      

Finds articles mentioning a person.
Publication date PD PD(19871020)     

Specific publication date. 
Publication Title PUB PUB(European Journal of Archaeology)     

Use to search by a specific publication or publications; Look up available.
Publisher PB PB(trustees of the national galleries of scotland)

Provides results from publisher of a work.
Publisher Location PBLOC PBLOC(australia)

Look up available.
References REF REF(Oras, Ester)       

Looks for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). 
Source type SType STYPE(newspapers)     

Finds pecific source types such as books, newspapers or scholarly journals. 
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(decorative or decoratif*)  

Look for articles about a specific subject. Use both English and French terms. A search for the subject heading “decorative or decoratifs” will find articles with the subject decorative arts, arts decoratifs, decorative arts- ceramics and glass, etc. To run an exact subject search where only “decorative arts” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.       

SU.EXACT("decorative arts")
Volume VO VO(100)    

Volume of a resource. 

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) offers seven Look ups or browseable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a exhibition--this is especially helpful since IBA has non-English content. Look ups are available for the following searchable fields: author, companies/organizations, location, people, publication, publisher locations, subjects.  For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.