Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

LGBT Thought and Culture: Home

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera, creating research opportunities and course material for educators of cultural studies, history, women's and gender studies, political science, sociology, and more.

Understanding the transnational nature of the evolution of the LGBT community and political movement, the collection will also include published works and archival materials from around the world, with a particular focus on Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Latin America.

 

A significant portion of the LGBT Thought and Culture collection is exclusive content:

  • The Pat Rocco Collection Acquired from the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, this collection features ephemora and correspondence from gay rights organizer and filmmaker Pat Rocco.
  • The Jeanne Córdova Papers:  The collection offers ephemera documenting the 1970’s activism of editor Jeanne Córdova. It includes correspondence regarding her magazine The Lesbian Tide, and other letters.
  • The Magnus Hirschfeld Collection, including the professional correspondence, publications, confidential reports, news clippings, court documents, and other materials from renowned German sex researcher Magnus Hirschfeld (1868–1935).

 

Also included in this collection are:

  • Case papers for numerous indecent publication trials like the 1928 obscenity trial for The Well of Loneliness by Radclyffe Hall.
  • The Damron Guides: The collection includes the 1965-1980 runs of this National Directory that documents LGBT-friendly places, presenting insight into the evolution of pro-LGBT establishments in the United States and Canada.
  • The editorial files and books of Tracy Baim a key LGBT and feminist reporter since 1980.
  • Outlines (1987-2000), a newspaper serving Chicago's LGBT community.
  • Blacklines (1996-2006), a monthly newspaper covering African American LGBT issues with a focus on gay media.
  • En La Vida (1996-2006), a monthly newspaper addressing Latino/a LGBT issues and culture.
  • Rare books and major winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards, many of which are no longer in print.