Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Literature Online (LION)

Searchable Fields

Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.

 

 Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Accession Number

AN

AN(2005580185)

A unique number that identifies a specific document.

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(teaching Dante)

ALL searches anywhere in the document, including the full text whenever is available.

Anywhere except Full Text

NOFT

NOFT(Dante)

searches anywhere in the document, except the full text whenever is available.

Author

AU

AU(Almond Ian)

AU(Geoffrey Chaucer)

Use to find documents or works written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author, or search for last name only for a broader search. 

Recommended using the look up list.

Author as subject

SAU

SAU(Samuel Beckett)

Person who is the subject of the document. Note that this field also contains the titles of anonymous works, folk works and other works that lack an identified author, e.g. 'Beowulf', 'The Sopranos'.   Applies to the Criticism content type.

Author's work

 

SWK

SWK("Waiting for Godot")

Work of literature discussed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Document Text

FT

FT(jealous lover)

FT searches in the complete text of the document

Document Title

TI

 

TI(Determiner Phrase and Definiteness in Old High German)

TI(Taming the shrew)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the document.

Document Type

DTYPE

DTYPE(book)

The document's type - book (monograph, collection of essays, or article within), dissertation abstract, (scholarly) edition, journal article, translation or website.

For ABELL the Doc types are: Article, Book, Review

Ethnicity

ETH

ETH(Hispanic-american)

Search for works created by authors of a specific ethnicity. It is important to note that the vast majority of authors in Literature Online have not been indexed by ethnicity. This search will only retrieve hits for those authors who belong to one of the ethnic groups which we have selected for inclusion in our database. These ethnicities have been selected on the grounds that their cultures have become significant areas of study for literary and cultural scholars.

Folklore Topic

FLK

FLK(ethnomusicology)

Subject in folklore studies addressed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Genre

GEN

GEN(science fiction)

Literary genre addressed in the documentApplies to the Criticism content type.

International Standard Book Number (ISBN)

ISBN

ISBN(0820472077)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

International Standard Serials Number (ISSN)

ISSN

ISSN(0002-7294)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language of publication

PLB

PLB(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Linguistics Topic

LIN

LIN(phonetics)

Subject in linguistics addressed in the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Influence

LIF

LIF(feminist writers)

Person or thing that has been influenced by the subject defined in the classification. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Movement

LTM

LTM(HUMANISM)

Search for works defined by a particular style or writing, group of writers, or other influencing factors. Many of these terms, such as "Pre-Raphaelitism", were used by the authors themselves. Others, such as "Metaphysical Poets", were only later applied to groups of authors by critics. In these cases we have taken current critical usage into account in assigning authors to movements. In particular, the terms "Lesbian/Gay writing, 1885-", "Feminist Writers, 1900-", and "Postcolonialism, 20th Century" include many authors who did not announce themselves as homosexual, feminist or postcolonialist, but whose work has been discussed in relation to those themes.

Literary Period

LTP

LTP("Middle English Period")

Search for works written during a defined period of literary history. All authors in Literature Online have been indexed by literary period, with each author being assigned to the period(s) in which he or she flourished. To be included in a given period, an author must have produced either a substantial amount of work, or some of his/her most well-known work within the dates of that period.

Literary Source

LSO

LSO(bible)

Person or thing that has influenced the subject defined in the classification. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Theme

LTH

LTH(cowboy)

Theme addressed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literature Topic GLT

GLT(Arthurian legend)

Subject in literary studies addressed in the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Subject Heading

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT.EXACT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Nationality

NAT

NAT("South Asian")

NAT(Caribbean)

Nationality of the person or works adressed in the document.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

National Literature

NL

NT(Turkish literature)

Use the National Literature field to search for subject terms relating to specific national literatures, e.g. 'German literature'. 

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Performance Medium

MED

MED(film)

Film, theater, opera, television, or radio as subject of the document.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Period

TIM

TIM(1900-1999)

Span of one or several hundred years as appropriate to the subject.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Place

LOC

LOC(Australia)

Geographic subject of the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Acta Linguistica Asiatica)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications. Alternatively use the look up facility to select specific titles.

Publication Year

YR

YR(2008)

Use to search documents from a specific year or years. Remember to use an OR operator when searching for more than one year. Alternatively use the Date range under the Search options.

Publisher Abstract

ABS

ABS(courtroom drama)

Publisher Abstracts were made available to users with the April 2008 upload.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Serials Title

SR

SR(Contemporary North American Poetry Series)

Use to retrieve books from a series.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

All Subject and Indexing

SU

SU(ethnic stereotypes)

Controlled vocabulary words, names, or phrases that describe what the document is about. For more targeted subject searching, use subject sub-fields such as MAINSUBJECT or Author as Subject or Work as subject. Applies to the Criticism content type only.

Subject Language

SLN

SLN(French language)

Language the document is about.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Update

UD

UD(201207)

When the document was added to the database.

Field Name

Search Examples & Explanation

Author name*

or

Author/Reviewer*†§

Example: Audre Lorde

Example: Sullivan

Example: "O'Reilly, John Boyle"

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name ordered last name, first name or search for last name only for a broader search. 

Author as Subject*‡

Example: Steinbeck, John

Example: "National Endowment for the Arts"

Use to search for articles regarding a specific author or article about their work. On the MLA search page, the Look Up associated with this field also contain access to the MLA Thesaurus.

Author's Work*‡

Example: "A Brighter Sun"

Use to search for criticism articles about a particular work. On the MLA search page, the Look Up associated with this field; also contains access to the MLA Thesaurus.

Ethnicity*

Example: Hispanic-American

Example: Jewish 

Search for works created by authors of a specific ethnicity. It is important to note that the vast majority of authors in Literature Online have not been indexed by ethnicity. This search will only retrieve hits for those authors who belong to one of the ethnic groups which we have selected for inclusion in our database. These ethnicities have been selected on the grounds that their cultures have become significant areas of study for literary and cultural scholars.

Folklore Topic*‡

Example: "African American women"

Example: Judaism  

Example: "folk tale"

Use to search for subject terms relating to folklore. The Look Up associated with this field also contain access to the MLA Thesaurus.

Gender 

Male or Female; Male only; Female only

Use the radio buttons to select one of the three gender options to limit your search.

Genre*

Example: Elegy

Example: Triolet

Example: "American Western fiction"

Use this to find works specific to a particular type of literature. On the MLA search page, the Look Up associated with this field also contain access to the MLA Thesaurus.

International Standard Book Number*†‡

Example: 0000-0019

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are not necessary.

International Standard Serials Number*†‡

Example: 0007111681

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are not necessary.

Journal Title*Ġ

Example: "Papers on Language & Literature"

Use a complete or partial title in this field to locate works and articles found within that title or seek out titles with common words.

Keywords*

Example: "My kingdom for a horse"

Use to search anywhere within the text of works or criticism and reference publications. Keywords can be search in the Texts: All, Poetry, Drama, and Prose search pages; Criticism: All, ABELL, and MLA International Bibliography search pages; and Reference search page.

Language of publication*

Example: Afrikaans

Example: Chinese

Example: "Haitian Creole"

Use to search for items published in a specific language.

Linguistics Topic*‡

Example: "articulatory phonetics"

Example: bilingualism

Use to search for subject terms relating to linguistics. On the MLA search page, the Look Up associated with this field also contain access to the MLA Thesaurus.

Literary Influence*‡

Example: Neruda, Pablo

Example: Reformation

Use to search for subject terms relating to influence, e.g. '(influence on) Pound, Ezra (1885–1972)'. Note: the role indicator '(influence on)' does not appear in the index list.

Literary Movement*

Example: "Cambridge School" 

Example: Humanism

Search for works defined by a particular style or writing, group of writers, or other influencing factors. Many of these terms, such as "Pre-Raphaelitism", were used by the authors themselves. Others, such as "Metaphysical Poets", were only later applied to groups of authors by critics. In these cases we have taken current critical usage into account in assigning authors to movements. In particular, the terms "Lesbian/Gay writing, 1885-", "Feminist Writers, 1900-", and "Postcolonialism, 20th Century" include many authors who did not announce themselves as homosexual, feminist or postcolonialist, but whose work has been discussed in relation to those themes.

Literary Period*

Example: "Middle English Period, 1350-1500"

Example: "Age of Sensibility, 1745-1785"

Search for works written during a defined period of literary history. All authors in Literature Online have been indexed by literary period, with each author being assigned to the period(s) in which he or she flourished. To be included in a given period, an author must have produced either a substantial amount of work, or some of his/her most well-known work within the dates of that period.

Literary Source*‡

Example: "african culture"

Example: Poe, Edgar Allan

Use the Literary Source field to search for subject terms relating to sources and influences, e.g. '(sources in) Dante (1265–1321)' or '(influence of) English folklore'. This field is not used in pre-1981 data. Note: dates and role indicators such as '(source in)' and '(influence of)' do not appear in the index list.

Literary Theme*‡

Example: "absolute monarchy"

Example: zeitgeist

Use the Literary Theme field to search for subject terms relating to the themes of the work under discussion, e.g. '(treatment of) Germany'. This field is less frequently used in pre-1981 data. Note: role indicators such as '(treatment of)' do not appear in the index list.

Literary Topic*‡

Example: Cairo

Example: Jacobites

The Literature Topic field searches three separate subject fields in the MLAIB records: General Literature Topic (e.g. 'dramatic arts'), Literary Technique (e.g. 'narrative frame'), and Literary Feature (e.g. 'postmodernism').

Living in years

Example: 1550  to  1620

Use to find works and criticism written between January 1st and December 31st of a specific rage of years.

National Literature*‡

Example: "danish literature"

Example: Mexico

Use the National Literature field to search for subject terms relating to specific national literatures, e.g. 'German literature'.

Nationality*                

Example: Caribbean

Example: "South Asian"

Use to find works by authors of a particular nationality.

Period*‡

Example: "1050-1200"

Use the Period field to search for subject terms relating to time periods. Numeric formats are generally used.

Place*‡

Example: "East Germany"

Use the Place field to search for subject terms relating to geographic places, e.g. 'Turkey' or 'London'. In records from 1981 onwards, this field is only used for linguistics and folklore entries.

Publication Details*†§

Example: "Aberdeen: Assn for Scottish Literary Studies"

Use the Publication Details field to search the titles of journals, book collections or book series in which an article appears, plus other details such as place of publication, publisher, volume and issue numbers, degree-awarding institution (for dissertations), pagination and date.

Publication Date

Example: 1550  to  1620

Use to find works and criticism written by authors living during January 1st and December 31st of a specific rage of years. This does not have to indicate the entire lifespan of an author; it can reflect a certain period in their life.

Publication Title*‡

Example: "Journal of Indo-European Studies Monograph Series"

Use to search by a specific publication or publications. 

Publisher Abstract*‡

Example: Zahn

Example: European

Example: Revolutionary

Use to search the text of the publisher-provided abstract of an article indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. 

Source type†‡

ABELL: Use to limit the search to articles, books, or reviews, or any combination thereof.

MLA International Bibliography: Use to limit the search to books, book articles, dissertation abstracts, journal articles, scholarly edition, translation, or web sites, or any combination thereof.

Subject Heading*

Example: Abolitionism

Example: "Gypsy Folklore"

Use the Subject field to search for items about a specific author, work, theme or other subject area. ABELL records from 2001 onwards feature additional subject terms, including titles of literary works, non-English-language authors and thematic terms in addition to standard ABELL subject categories such as author name. On the MLA search page, the Look Up assocaited with this field also contain access to the MLA Thesaurus.

Subject Language*‡

Example: "Acadian French dialect"

Example: "French language (old)"

Example: "Japanese language"

Use the Subject Language field to search for subject terms relating to specific languages.

Title Keywords*

Example: "Soho Cinema"

Use to search for keywords within the title of works or criticism and refernece articles. 

Update Code‡

Enter codes into the FROM and TO fields such as from: 199801 to: 201305

Use the Update Code field to search for the data update in which the record was added to the bibliography. The format is YYYYNN, where YYYY is the bibliography year (not the calendar year), and NN is the number of the update (not the month). Users should note that the last two digits for records from completed years are always '01'; the update number only varies for records from the current bibliography year. Example: to find records added from the 2001 volume onwards, enter 200101 in the 'From' field.

* Indicates that a Look Up is available for that field.

§ Indicates that this search field is exclusive to the Criticism search pages (All, Criticism, and MLA IB).

ƒ Indicates that this search field is found on the Criticism> All search page.

† Indicates that this search field is found on the Criticism > ABELL search page.

‡ Indicates that this search field is found on the Criticism > MLA International Bibliography search page.