Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

MLA International Bibliography Chadwyck-Healey: Home

Product Access

Decorative Image from Database

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

About

The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run, and currently contains more than 2 million records. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals gives full information on over 7,100 journals and book series.

This guide refers to the MLA International Bibliography on the Chadwyck-Healey interface.  For the MLA International Bibliography on the ProQuest platform please refer to this Libguide: https://proquest.libguides.com/mla.  

Scope of the Collection


The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship dealing with the following fields:

  • Literature: from all over the world, including Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America
  • Folklore: folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems
  • Language and linguistics: the study of languages from any historical period, including history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax and translation
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Dramatic arts: film, radio, television and theatre
  • History of printing and publishing
  • Teaching of language, literature, rhetoric and composition at college level (from 1998 onwards)

The bibliography indexes published items in a broad range of media: while the most common materials listed are books, book articles and journal articles, the bibliography also lists electronic materials. Coverage includes:

  • Critical monographs and book collections
  • Materials from over 4,400 journals, including selected electronic journals
  • Materials in any language, from any country in the world – over 60 languages are represented in the index
  • Dictionaries, catalogues, handbooks, bibliographies, indexes, and other reference works
  • Published working papers, conference papers, and conference proceedings
  • Citations of dissertations from Dissertations Abstracts International
  • Handbooks, anthologies for teaching, syllabi, textbooks, and curriculum guides
  • Scholarly websites, online bibliographies and electronic monographs
  • Any work that is of interest to scholars in these fields, whether it is written for a scholarly or more general audience

The following categories are not included in the bibliography:

  • Reprints of previously published materials, unless they are of significant literary or scholarly works that were unavailable to the scholarly community
  • Unpublished dissertations; instead, the bibliography includes citations of dissertations from Dissertations Abstracts International
  • Summaries of conference papers
  • Individual articles from dictionaries and encyclopaedias
  • Literary works and translations, unless they are accompanied by a new critical or bibliographical apparatus or they are based on a newly established authoritative text
  • Reviews of literary and scholarly works
  • Letters to editors, obituary notices, and the like, unless they make a significant contribution to scholarship
  • Courseware, lesson plans, and how-to guides
  • Work of inappropriate level, such as Masters’ theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works

Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in these listings. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

Any regularly published journal available to libraries or universities that publishes articles on language, literature, or folklore with some frequency is eligible for inclusion on the Master List. Any series that includes books on language, literature, or folklore, regardless of the frequency of the series, is also eligible.