Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music and Performing Arts Collection


Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(swing jazz)     AB(storytelling)

Members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts.
Accession Number AN AN(356894)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.
Anywhere   Actor   

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.
Anywhere except full text NOFT NOFT(orchestra)     

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.
Author AU AU(Goldsmith Jill)     

Finds documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Use the Look Up list to verify the various formats of the same name. 
Broad Subject Headings BSU BSU(music history)        BSU(musical theater)

Use to search for a broad subject heading that has been applied to an article. 

See the list of the Broad Subject Headings in the box below in this page.
Character  CHR CHR(Figaro)  

Use to search for a character from an opera or other artistic work. 
Country of Publication / Place of Publication CP CP(United Kingdom)     CP(London)   

Use to search for where a publication was produced. 
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(Greek National Opera)      

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. 
Creative Work SWK SWK(Pippin)

Use to search for a creative work (dance, opera, play, etc.) featured in an article.
Applies only to the Performing Arts Database.
Digital Object Identifiers DOI DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)      

Searches for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.
Document Feature  DF DF(Chart)     

Searches for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, musical scores, or photographs.
Document Number AN AN(1713554)       

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).
Document Text FT FT(cello sonatas)    

FT(contemporary dance)

Searches for keywords in the body of the article. 
Document Title TI TI(puppet)       TI(rock)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(performance review)   

Finds specific document types such as journal article, bibliographies, film reviews and musical notation (see the list in the limiter box in Advanced Search)
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Issue ISS ISS(8368)     

Searches the issue number of a resource. 
Journal Subject JSU

JSU(opera)       JSU(theater)

This field searches for the subjects assigned to the journals themselves.

See the Publication Subject table in the box in this page.

Language  LA LA(Spanish)       

Original language of the document. 
Location  LOC LOC(Austin)     

Specific geographic area or location mentioned in the article.
Narrow Subject Heading NSU NSU(18th century)       NSU(Action films)     

Use to search for a narrow subject heading that has been applied to an article.
Person  PER PER(Frank Sinatra)      

Finds articles mentioning a person.
Publication date
Publication Year  
PD
YR
PD(19871020)         YR(2004)

Specific publication date or year
Publication Title PUB PUB(rolling stone)           PUB(American drama)

Specific publication or publications.
Publisher PB  PB(Cambridge University Press) 

Use to search by a specific publisher. 
Source type SType STYPE(trade journals)     

Finds specific source types such as trade journals, newspapers, or scholarly journals. 
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(dance)  

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “dance” will find articles with the broad subjects "Dance-Experimental" and "Dance-Productions", as well as the narrow subjects "Aboriginal dance" and "Character dance". To run an exact subject search where only “dance” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.       

SU.EXACT(dance)
Volume VO VO(100)    

Volume of a resource. 

Broad and Narrow Subjects

While there is not a searchable thesaurus for the Performing Arts Database, you can use the Broad Subject Heading and Narrow Subject Heading fields to identify subject terms for searching.

Broad Subject Headings broadly describe what an article is about (e.g., Circus Arts) while Narrow Subject Headings focus in more precisely on the content of the article (e.g., Acrobats & Acrobatics). The broad and narrow subject lists are created by ProQuest’s indexing team and are revised occasionally. The broad subject list is revised as new broad subject areas are investigated by researchers, while the narrow subject list grows more readily. Each article in the database receives both broad and narrow subjects.

Broad Subject Headings

LIst of the Broad Subject Headings and in which if the 2 sections each applies

Broad subject Music/Performing Arts
Arts and Entertainment Industry‎ PerfArts
Blues Music‎ Music
Chamber Music‎ Music
Circus Arts‎ PerfArts
Classical Music (General)‎ Music
Country and Western Music‎ Music
Dance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ballet‎ PerfArts
Dance-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic‎ PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Asia PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-Europe PerfArts
Dance-Ethnic-the Americas PerfArts
Dance-Experimental PerfArts
Dance-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Dance-Health/Fitness‎ PerfArts
Dance-International PerfArts
Dance-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Dance-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Dance-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Dance-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Dance-International-the Americas PerfArts
Dance-Modern‎ PerfArts
Dance-Music PerfArts
Dance-Productions‎ PerfArts
Dance-Social Dance‎ PerfArts
Dance-Technology‎ PerfArts
Dance-USA‎ PerfArts
Ethnic Music: Africa/Middle East‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Asia‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Australia/New Zealand/Oceania Music
Ethnic Music: Central America/Caribbean‎ Music
Ethnic Music: Europe‎ Music
Ethnic Music: General‎ Music
Ethnic Music: North America (except Mexico)‎ Music
Ethnic Music: South America‎ Music
Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Film‎ PerfArts
Film-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Film-Business/Finance/Sales‎ PerfArts
Film-Experimental PerfArts
Film-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Film-Genres‎ PerfArts
Film-International‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Africa/Middle East‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania‎ PerfArts
Film-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Film-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Film-Music‎ PerfArts
Film-Productions‎ PerfArts
Film-Technology‎ PerfArts
Film-USA‎ PerfArts
Folk Music‎ Music
Jazz‎ Music
Magic and Illusionism‎ PerfArts
Mime PerfArts
Music and Other Disciplines‎ Music
Music and Other Literary/Performing/Visual Arts‎ Music
Music Business‎ Music
Music Education‎ Music
Music History‎ Music
Music in Ritual‎ Music
Music Reference‎ Music
Musical Notation‎ Music
Musical performance Music
Musical Performance‎ Music
Musical Sound Sources‎ Music
Musical Theater‎ Music
Musical Theater-Cabaret‎ Music
Opera‎ Music/PerfArts
Opera-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Opera-Contemporary‎ PerfArts
Opera-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Opera-Productions‎ PerfArts
Orchestral Music‎ Music
Other Performing Arts‎ PerfArts
Performance Art‎ PerfArts
Performing Arts and Other Disciplines‎ PerfArts
Performing Arts History‎ PerfArts
Popular Music‎ Music
Popular Music: Latin Music‎ Music
Puppetry‎ PerfArts
Radio‎ PerfArts
Reference Resources PerfArts
Rock Music‎ Music
Solo Instrument Music‎ Music
Sound Recording/Processing/Systems‎ Music
Storytelling PerfArts
Television‎ PerfArts
Television-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Television-Business/Programming‎ PerfArts
Television-International‎ PerfArts
Television-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Television-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Television-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Television-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Television-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Television-Music PerfArts
Television-Technology‎ PerfArts
Television-USA‎ PerfArts
Theater‎ PerfArts
Theater-Awards and Honors‎ PerfArts
Theater-Business/Finance‎ PerfArts
Theater-Experimental PerfArts
Theater-Festivals and Conferences‎ PerfArts
Theater-International‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-Africa/Middle East PerfArts
Theater-International-Asia‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-Australia/New Zealand/Oceania PerfArts
Theater-International-Europe‎ PerfArts
Theater-International-the Americas‎ PerfArts
Theater-Productions‎ PerfArts
Theater-Shakespearean Theater‎ PerfArts
Theater-Stagecraft‎ PerfArts
Theater-USA‎ PerfArts
Theory/Analysis/Composition‎ Music
Theory/Analysis/Performance‎ PerfArts
Video‎ PerfArts
Vocal Music‎ Music