Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database: Searchable Fields

Information clearinghouse related to research, policy, and practice in criminal justice

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

NCJRS offers fourLook ups or browseable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a publication title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page using the dropdown. They are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject, and country of publication,  For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browseable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

 

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(domestic)

Since this database is Abstract only (rather than Fulltext), this field is nearly the same as searching "anywhere" with the difference being the search of any of the metadata in the latter. 

Accession Number

AN

AN(270712)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.

Anywhere

N/A

(theft)

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record--which in the case of NCJRS Abstracts Database will be the abstract and additional metadata since Fulltext is not available. 

Author

AU

 

AU(Mossberg, Walt)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Author Affiliation

AF

AF(Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention)

Use this field to find associations or organizations with which the author is affiliated. 

 

Contract number 

 

CR

 

CR(ED-IES-12-C-003)

 

Country of Publication

CP

 

CP(Germany)

This field will reveal the original country of publication.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(safety)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Editor

ED

ED(smith, m)

Grant ID

 

GI

 

GI(RGT/1/010332756)

This is the number associated with some research, reports, studies and indicated the number assigned to the grant.

Notes

 

NT

 

NT(update)

Information found in the Supplemental data field of the metadata.  It offers additional, miscellaneous information about a source. 

Original Title

 

OTI

 

OTI(of the United States)

Offers insight into the original title if it was abbreviated or enhanced.  Shows in Alternative Title field of metadata.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(violence against women)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Report Number

 

RP

RP(CAC/COSP/2013/18)

Use this to find a specific report from conference proceedings, various report types or within journals.

 

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(abusing parents)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject.