Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service): Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of NTIS including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) offers four Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or subject. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: Author, Classification, Company/organization and Subject. For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable fields table to the right.

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the Advanced Search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the Advanced Search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

ab("Presidential Permit")

Use adjacency and/or Boolean operators to narrow search results.

Accession Number

AN

AN(PB2014103909)

Search the unique number for articles and documents.

Author

AU

AU(sengupta a)

AU(sengupta)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author Affiliation

AF

AF("national center for health statistics”)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification

CL

CL ("pipeline transportation")

Use to search classification

Contract Number

CR

CR(NAS15-10000))

CR(grant) AND CR(NSF GS552)

Also includes Grant number

Document title

TI

TI(“Final Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement” PRE/2 keystone)

Includes Alternate Title and Subtitles, but not Publication Title (PUB)

Language

LA

LA(English)

Use to find documents in a specific language.

Publication Date

PD

PD(20170401)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

(YYYYMMDD) = (20170401)

(YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (2014 and April) or (April 2009)

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

E.g.  for records with publication dates after 2014, use the following format: PD(>2014).

Publication Type

PT

PT(government & official publications)

Publication Year

YR

YR(2016)

Used to search documents published in a specific year.

Publisher

PB

PB(american institute of aeronautics and astronautics)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

Report Number

RP

RP(PB2014103906)

NTIS Report number

Subject

SU

SU(federal regulations)                        

SU(autonomous navigation)

Title

TI

TI(autonomous and inspection and robot*)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.