Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest One Academic: Scholarly Resources

ProQuest One Academic includes thousands of scholarly journals across disciplines. Librarians and faculty around the world point their students to the scholarly journals in ProQuest to help keep up with the latest research in their field, comparing and contrasting ideas, and in other ways. 

Through the Basic Search page you were shown how a user can select a source type filter to narrow their search directly to scholarly journals. Below we'll show you how the integrated search results page can be easily navigated when you have searched all the sources together (the default behavior from the Basic and Advanced Search page). With this example, we are going to focus on how you can quickly pull up scholarly resources such as scholarly journals, peer-reviewed journals, and working papers when you have a diverse set of results. 

 

Results page viewEach record from the results page will have a source type icon, such as this graduation cap for Scholarly Journals. 

Click the document title or one of the document format options below the record to open the full record. Document format options may include Abstracts/DetailsFull textFull-text PDF, References, or Cited by. Each record from the results page also has a Preview link which will display the major bibliographic fields beneath the record. 

 

Another way to locate Scholarly Journals and other scholarly resources is is to use the Narrow results by/Filter menu on the left-hand side of the page. From here you will have an option to Limit to: Peer reviewed (scholarly journals that go through the peer review process for approval prior to publishing) and then under the Source type menu, you can select Scholarly Journals from the list of available source types or click the More link to display other source types that are part of your current set of results. 

After making your source type selection, the results page will now display the chosen source type. If you would like to view more than one source at a time, click the More link and then select to Include or Exclude source types. 

 

 

While in the full record, you'll see the different document formats available through separate tabs. Notice that this Scholarly article includes a References tab. See the References list for the complete document bibliography and if any of the documents are part of your ProQuest subscription, you'll be able to view the full document. Additionally, some documents come with a Cited by list. This will show you what other ProQuest resources cited this particular document. This allows researchers to easily connect to other relevant resources. You may also see a link to Documents with shared references that displays ProQuest resources that have references in common. 

To the right of the document you'll see the large Download PDF button to easily and quickly take the document out of ProQuest. Below that includes options for citing the text, email, print, and save. The save feature is also where you'll find the Export to RefWorks and Save to My Research where you can create a personal account to manage your ProQuest research. 

You'll also find a Related items section with relevant suggestions to help you locate additional documents.