Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest One Academic: Search

Product Access

Search across all of ProQuest One Academic with the Basic Search. You can search All source types or choose to limit your search by a source type such as Scholarly Journals, Videos & Audio, Dissertations & Theses, Books and others that are available through the More menu. Additionally, you can limit your search to items containing Full text from ProQuest and Peer Reviewed items to only find documents reviewed by subject matter experts. 

Visit the Search Tips and Basic Search Help Documentation for detailed help on working with operators, fields, special characters, operator precedence, stop words, and other platform search tips. You can also visit the ProQuest Platform Search Tips section of the ProQuest Platform LibGuide to review platform search defaults and tips.

Basic Search

IMPORTANT: The search default is set to Anywhere. Anywhere searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields) including the full text. Your organization's ProQuest administrator may have chosen to change the default to search Anywhere except full text (NOFT) instead. Anywhere except full text (NOFT) searches the full bibliographic record, but does NOT include a search of the full text. 

If you are the ProQuest Administrator for your account, visit the ProQuest Administrator Module page to learn more about the interface settings that are available for edit.  

If you want to create a more structured query, searching across different fields, more details on how to do this can be found in the Advanced Search help below. 

Use the Advanced Search to create a more structured query, searching across different fields. Enter your search term, then use the pull-down menus to the right to select the search fields you want to target, and between each row select Boolean operators to connect your search terms.

Additionally, visit the Search Tips and Advanced Search Help Documentation for detailed help on working with operators, fields, special characters, operator precedence, stop words, and other platform search tips. You can also visit the ProQuest Platform Search Tips section of the ProQuest Platform LibGuide to review platform search defaults and tips.

IMPORTANT: The search default is set to Anywhere. Anywhere searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields) including the full text. Your organization's ProQuest administrator may have chosen to change the default to search Anywhere except full text (NOFT) instead. Anywhere except full text (NOFT) searches the full bibliographic record, but does NOT include a search of the full text. 

If you are the ProQuest Administrator for your account, visit the ProQuest Administrator Module page to learn more about the interface settings that are available for edit.  

You can also limit your search to items containing Full text from ProQuest and Peer Reviewed items to only find documents reviewed by subject matter experts. Use the Publication date menu to target a date range or a specific date. 

From the Advanced Search page you may find a link to the thesaurus feature. A thesaurus is an alphabetical listing of all the subject terms in a single database, used to classify and organize information for that database. The thesaurus shows relationships between terms such as synonyms or related terms, and hierarchical arrangements such as broader terms, or narrower terms. Most ProQuest databases have an associated thesaurus. 

Once you select the Thesaurus link, you will have an option to search for terms containing the word you have entered or beginning with the word you have entered. From there you can click on the subject terms to show the relationships with other terms. You can then select the subject terms that you would like to add to your search. 

For additional details on how to use the thesaurus and search using the subject field, please see the Searchable fields section of the ProQuest Platform LibGuide. You can also find additional Thesaurus help from our Thesaurus help file

The Command Line Search is also accessible from the Advanced Search page. 

Source type - restrict your search to documents from one or more source types—such as magazines, newspapers, or trade journals. 

Document type - restrict your search to one or more document types—such as articles, audio/video clips, or poems. 

Language - restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages—such as Arabic, German, or Sanskrit. 

Additional or altogether different limits may appear depending on the databases that you have chosen to search (such as if you search more than just ProQuest One Academic and add other ProQuest collections to the search).

From the Results page options, you can adjust the sort order, the number of items per page, excluding duplicate documents, and show additional search terms.