Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Product Education

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

Product Training Modules - Beginning and Intermediate

Module: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Librarian

Intended Audience: Librarians who want to learn how to use the database's advanced search support subject area research.

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how librarians can use the database to support subject research at their institution.

Duration: 2 minutes


Module: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, searching Titles and Languages

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD who want to learn how to use the database's advanced search to retrieve known dissertations and search languages other than English.

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can use the database to identifying known dissertations by title and search/analyze by foreign languages. Objectives of the module are:

  • Perform searches by title to quickly locate known dissertations
  • Search for alternate titles in non-English languages
  • Refine results and analyze dissertations in specific languages

Duration: 3 minutes


Module: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, searching Names

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD who want to learn how to use the database's advanced search to retrieve dissertations of known Authors or Advisors

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can use the database to identify dissertations of known Authors or Advisors and further refine/analyze them. Objectives of the module are:

  • Perform searches by Author name to find known dissertations
  • Discover Advisors that may have reviewed dissertations relevant to your research field
  • Use the Look up list to identify names with unknown spellings

Duration: 4 minutes

Recorded Training Sessions

Webinar Title: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Librarian

Description:  This session reviews how Librarians can utilize the database to support subject area research.  The session also demonstrates using the database to guide students in research topic selection.

Duration:  30 minutes