Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Compilation of Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1897: About

About the Papers

This compilation is also known as the Richardson Set.  In April 1895 James Richardson, a representative from Tennessee, was charged with compiling all of the official papers of the president.  Ten volumes were produced from 1896-99 and included in the Congressional Serial Set. 

This compilation contains most of the presidential papers through Cleveland’s second administration ending March 4, 1897.  The index volume (volume 10) also contains many of the papers of the earlier presidents which were omitted in their proper place and the papers of President McKinley relating to the Spanish-American War. 

This is an incomplete set and there are interesting omissions, such as Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. Users researching presidential materials will probably need materials in addition to this compilation. 

The Bureau of National Literature, Inc., updated (and repaginated) this compilation to include presidents Benjamin Harrison through Woodrow Wilson.  Because of the repagination, citations may be confusing.


The papers

These volumes are part of the ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital CollectionUse this bookmark to search all ten volumes.