Find all the latest Release accouncements in this page:
New collection Health Research Full Text Professional now on Dialog
Full-text Pharma/Biomed Content on Dialog - Fall 2019
We constantly strive to enhance our content offering on ProQuest Dialog and February 2019 sees the most recent addition to the collection with the loading of full-text pharma/biomed content: Health Research Full Text Professional.
Dialog has always been renowned for its unparalleled collection of bibliographic databases where expert indexers have taken the worldwide scholarly literature and created precise and informative abstracts summarising the scope, methods, and conclusions from original research. The addition of Health Research Full Text Professional now gives you seamless access to the original full-text where available.
Having access to this new database means that you can be searching key databases like Embase, Medline, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Drug File and - when the full-text is present in Health Research Full Text Professional - you will see a direct link to it from your list of results.
This database will be available on subscription or on a Pay-As-You-Go basis.
Check the Prosheet in the Pharmaceutical, Biomedical & Health Information box.
For more information, please contact your account manager or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Embase and EMCare Thesaurus Reloads: October 4
The next Embase® and EMCare® thesaurus reloads on Dialog will take place on Friday, October 4, between 4:00 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. ET, giving you access to the most current version of the Emtree thesaurus for these databases.
Embase and EMCare will include the September 2019 new and changed Emtree vocabulary terms. Following the reload, you may need to update your search and alert strategies with the new terms. Click the links for more information:
Additional scope notes are now available for the terms used in triple indexing links with the pharmacovigilance subheadings PV (special situation for pharmacovigilance) and TM (unexpected outcome of drug treatment). These terms and their scope notes are listed in the Dialog Embase ProSheet.
Embase and EMCare Reloads: March 8, 2019
The next Embase® and EMCare® thesaurus reloads on ProQuest Dialog will take place on Friday, March 8, between 4:00 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. ET, giving you access to the most current version of the Emtree thesaurus for these databases.
Embase and EMCare will include the January 2019 new and changed Emtree vocabulary terms. Following the reload, you may need to update your search and alert strategies with the new terms. Click the links for more information:
Two new subheadings have also been introduced:
MEDLINE and ToxFile reload 2019: now complete
Every year, MEDLINE® and ToxFile® are reloaded on ProQuest Dialog when the National Library of Medicine (NLM) re-indexes relevant documents from the whole database with changed medical terms. The 2019 reload of MEDLINE and ToxFile was completed on Sunday, January 27.
All documents in MEDLINE and ToxFile now reflect 2019 changes. You may need to update your searches and alerts with the 2019 MeSH vocabulary.
MeSH vocabulary changes for 2019
Information on the 2019 MeSH vocabulary from the NLM can be found here.
ProQuest Dialog launches the full version of its brand new 'Alerts Manager', and we want your feedback to help build the best tool available to manage alerts.
The Alert Manager allows you to
To see details of each release go to the What's New page of the new Alerts Manager (requires My Research login)
New in September 2018
Embase and EmCare Thesaurus Updates
A thesaurus update for Embase and EMCare on ProQuest Dialog will take place Friday September 21, 2018 between 4:00 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time.
After the update, Embase and EMCare will include the new and changed Emtree vocabulary terms from Emtree: the Life Science Thesaurus. Following the update, you may need to update your search and alert strategies with the new terms. You can find more information on the following pages:
We plan to update the Embase/EMCare thesaurus three times per year from now on, in September, January and May.
New in August 2018
2018 TULSA™ (Petroleum Abstracts) reload on ProQuest Dialog
Every year, TULSA (Petroleum Abstracts) is reloaded to implement the newest version of its thesaurus. The 2018 reload of the database will be completed by August 5, 2018.
You may want to update your alerts and searches to include appropriate new terms from the 2017 thesaurus. This list of 457 new terms includes Exploration & Production terms (group 1), Geographics (groups 2 and 5), Companies (group 3) and Chemicals (group 4). View the list of new preferred terms and synonyms.
Changes in the thesaurus are applied to the backfile. If a term has previously been used, but is determined not to be the best usage, it is made invalid and a new term is created. The backfile is then modified by replacing the old term with the new one.
TULSA will be available during the reload and no functionality will be affected. If you have any questions, please contact your account manager or email email@example.com.
New in June 2018
New ProQuest Dialog Login Screen
The next time you log into ProQuest Dialog, you’ll notice that our login screen has a new look.
This update prepares ProQuest Dialog for future Single Sign On (SSO) enhancements and other upgrades.
Nothing will change on your end at this time. If your account is configured for IP Authentication or Single Sign On, you will be logged in automatically. If not, you should continue to log in with your institutional account or My Research account. The links in the page footer have not changed. The old login page is still available.
If you have any questions about any of these changes, please contact your account manager or our customer experience team at firstname.lastname@example.org.
New in Feb 2018
1 - New Database: Northern Light - Life Sciences Conference Abstracts & Posters
2 - INPADOC Family and Legal Status – 5 new search mnemonics
3 - Excel Output – Drug Pipeline Databases
Changes implemented to improve the export from AdisInsight: Drugs and IMS R&D Focus – specifically. Changes may be noticeable elsewhere too. To see more details of the columns changed or newly introduced go to the related box in the Database Information page.
4 - PQD Visualization – 5 more charts
ProQuest Dissertation and Thesis - Two charts that show where R&D is trending:
5 - Patent Duplicate Detection – filter by latest date
Simplifies workflows that require the most recent patent publication of an invention for analysis and reporting. For example, a clearance search or patent infringement case.
Embase and EMCare Reloads: February 16, 2018
The annual Embase® and EMCare® reloads on ProQuest Dialog will take place on Friday, February 16, between 10:00 p.m. and 11:30 p.m. ET, giving you access to the most current versions of the thesaurus for these databases.
Embase and EMCare will include the new 2018 and changed Emtree vocabulary terms (Emtree: the Life Science Thesaurus). Following the reload, you may need to update your search and alert strategies with the new terms. Click the links for more information:
ProQuest Dialog MEDLINE and ToxFile reload 2018: now complete - Jan 2018
Every year, MEDLINE® and ToxFile® are reloaded on ProQuest Dialog when the National Library of Medicine (NLM) re-indexes relevant documents from the whole database with changed medical terms. The 2018 reload of MEDLINE and ToxFile was completed on Sunday, January 14.
Due to the reload, ProQuest Dialog did not update MEDLINE or ToxFile from Friday, January 12 at 9 a.m. ET through Sunday, January 14 at 6 p.m. ET. The databases was available, but no new content was loaded during that time.
All documents in MEDLINE and ToxFile now reflect 2018 changes. You may need to update your searches and alerts with the 2018 MeSH vocabulary.
MeSH vocabulary changes for 2018
Information on the 2018 MeSH vocabulary from the NLM can be found here.
One example of a significant change in 2018 is that contraindications, or CT, is no longer used as a qualifier/subheading. This term has been promoted to a full, explodable MeSH term: mesh.exact(Contraindications), which has two narrower terms – mesh.exact("Contraindications, drug") and mesh.exact("Contraindications, procedure"). You will need to update appropriate alert strategies for continued retrieval of this concept.
The MEDLINE ProSheet has been updated to reflect these changes.
New in December 2017
New Feature: Visualize Your Search Results
With the new visualization feature on ProQuest Dialog, you can now see a full picture of your search results. With a simple click of the Visualize results tab, quickly answer questions like: Who are the leading authors or innovators in a field? In which country are the most nanotechnology patents are being published? or Who are the experts I can contact for consulting engagements? Visualization creates a map of the most useful reference materials for your research.
See some examples of what our new visualization interface can do.
New in September 2017:
1 - New database: Tablebase®
Published by Gale, Tablebase is a popular database that specializes exclusively in tabular data on companies, industries, products and demographics. International in scope and covering more than 90 industries, TableBase gives users access to thousands of tables that are indispensable to daily research. It’s a great resource for specific statistical data – for example, “Latin America’s cosmetic sales by category” or “average starting salaries of U.S. public school teachers.”
Tablebase is available both by subscription and on pay-as-you-go accounts. If you’re a subscriber, contact your account manager or our customer experience team for access. If you have a pay-as-you-go account, you can start using Tablebase today. You can find out more about Tablebase on our ProSheet.
2 - Microsoft Excel output enhancements
We’ve made a number of additional enhancements to our Microsoft Excel output capabilities, including:
You can find more details and screen shots here.
3 - Single Sign On is now available
Single Sign On (SSO) allows a user to access multiple systems while using only a single set of credentials – for example, if you log into Gmail, you can also access your YouTube account without logging in again. Now, SSO can be configured for ProQuest Dialog, making access seamless for users across your organization.
Requirements for SSO include:
If your account meets these requirements and you would like to activate SSO on ProQuest Dialog, please contact your account manager or our customer experience team to begin the process.
4 - Enhancements to ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research
The ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research database on ProQuest Dialog now includes reports from five new publishers, doubling the size of the database to about 750,000 records. The publishers include:
Existing subscribers have been given automatic access to this new data. You can find out more about ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research on our ProSheet.
5 - Transition from HTTP to HTTPS
The ProQuest Dialog platform has moved from HTTP to HTTPS to strengthen the privacy and security of your information. This news was communicated to customers last month, but as a reminder, organizations that use proxies to access ProQuest Dialog will need to update links and certificates to support HTTPS.
This support article shows how to complete changes in proxy servers and provides answers to common questions. Even if you don't use proxies, you'll want to review and convert links to ProQuest Dialog content to their HTTPS versions.
New in March 2017
1 - Enhancements to Embase
The publisher of Embase® has released some enhancements that will benefit your ProQuest Dialog Embase search.
Errata and retractions: New document types and related record notes indicating errata (corrected articles) and retractions will allow you to connect errata and retractions to their original bibliographic record. The terminology in ProQuest Dialog is as follows:
2 - 2017 Inspec reload occurred on March 25
The 2017 annual reload of the Inspec® database took place on March 25-26. This reload introduced the 2017 versions of the Inspec thesaurus and classification look-up. Twenty-two new thesaurus terms have been added this year; no changes have been made to the classification in 2017. - 2017 terms are applied to records added to Inspec from January 2017 and beyond.
For more information about the thesaurus changes, and details of how existing terms are related to the new 2017 terms, refer to:
New in January 2017 - New legal status available in INPADOC
The European Patent Office (EPO) has released a new legal status product with enhancements to structure and content. ProQuest Dialog customers who use the INPADOC database have had access to this new legal status immediately.
This release improves the accuracy and reliability of legal status information. ProQuest Dialog worked alongside the EPO to guarantee our INPADOC customers had access to this legal status without delay. As of January 2017, updates to the INPADOC database on ProQuest Dialog now contain these enhancements. For legal certainty, use the INPADOC database for patent research.
If you are interested in personalized training on how to use INPADOC’s legal status, please contact your account manager or email us.
You can find more details on this enhancement in the document below.