Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

APA PsycArticles®

Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(child welfare worker)

Summary of the article.

Virtually 100% of records from 1995 to present have abstracts.
Accession Number AN
AN(2011-20326-003)

Search the unique PsycArticles® ID for articles and documents.
Age Group AE
AE(adolescence)

Available as a limit in Advanced Search.

Childhood (birth-12 years)
Neonatal (birth-1 month)
Infancy (2-23 months)
Preschool Age (2-5 years)
School Age (6-12 years)
Adolescence (13-17 years)
Adulthood (18 years & older)
Young Adulthood (18-29 years)
Thirties (30-39 years)
Middle Age (40-64 years)
Aged (65 years & older)
Very Old (85 years & older)
Use to retrieve articles focusing on a specific age group.
All Fields ALL
ALL(body image)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract as well as the full text.
Author AU AU(niessen cornelia)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.
Author Affiliation AF AF(warwick)

Use to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.
It is always best to avoid typing the word university as it could have been spelt: uni, univ, université, Universidad etc. Use the truncation instead uni*
Classification CL CL(neuropsychology &  neurology)
CL(2520)

22 Major categories and 135 subcategories
Each record is assigned to one or two classifications.
The full scheme can be found at Classification Categories and Codes. Both the numerical code or the actual classification can be searched.
Conference CF CF(American Psychological Association)

Use to search the title of a conference.
Contact Individual CX CX(Adelman)

Use to search the name and address for corresponding author.
Corporate Author CA
CA("the Society for Psychotherapy Research (SPR) Collaborative Research Network1")

Use to retrieve articles published by a Corporate Author. It contains the name of the organization that has produced the original source document. This field is often present when there is no personal author field. Use the distinctive parts of the name when searching this field and do not search for designations such Corp, Co, Company, Ltd. etc.
Digital Object Identifiers DOI DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)      

Searches for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.
Document Text FT FT(Specialty Guidelines for Forensic Psychologists)

Search within the full text of an article.
Document Title TI TI(Depression in adolescence)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(Market Research)   

Finds specific document types such as article, business case, company profile, market research…
Email Address EA EA(info@suicidepreventievlaanderen.be)

Use to search the email address of contact author
Format Covered FC FC(electronic)

Use to find which format is covered inPsycArticles®
Grant GI GI(“National Institutes of Health”)

Use to find articles supported by a specific funding institute.  
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(0022-006X)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional
Issue IS IS(1)

Use to search for a particular issue, best searched together with the publication title (PUB) field and/or the publication year (YR) field.
Language  LA LA(English)

Available as a limit in Advanced Search.
Journals in the following languages can be found in PsycArticles®:
English
French
German
Last Revision Date LR LR(2012*)

Format is yyyymmdd, best searched with truncation. The above example will retrieve all records with a Last revision date during the course of 2012.
Location  LOC LOC(Ukraine)

Search for a specific country the study concentrates on.
Major Subject MJSUB MJSUB(Mental Disorders)

Use to search top level subjects from the APA thesaurus. There is more information about the thesaurus on the left hand side.
Methodology ME
ME(systematic review)

Available as a limit in Advanced Search.

Use to limit your search to a specific methodology.
Notes NT NT(video)

Notes field will search any of the following APA fields: Supplemental Material, Notes, Supplemental DOI, Auxiliary Material, and Physical Description and display the results in the appropriate field.
Population POP POP(female)

Available as a limit in Advanced Search.

Contains a standardized description of specific populations related to the content of the document. Alternatively, use the Limits and select one or more of the following:

Human
Animal
Male
Female
Inpatient
Outpatient
Publication year YR YR(2008)

Use to search documents from a specific year or years. Remember to use an OR operator when searching for more than one year.
Publication Title PUB PUB(Psychology of Addictive Behaviors)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.
Publisher PB PB(Canadian Psychological Association)

Use to retrieve article from a specific publisher.
References REF REF(Barnett)
REF(Barnett NEAR 2010)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). Remember to use the NEAR operator when combining different elements of a cited reference.

Since 2001, the records in APA PsycArticles® have included cited references appearing in journal articles, books, and book chapters. Although comprehensive coverage of cited references began in 2001, references appear in some records for earlier years, and APA will continue to add retrospective coverage. 
Reviewed Work RV RV(“Immigrant families in contemporary society")

Contains information of a reviewed item in the APA PsycArticles® record. This field may contain the reviewed item's author(s), title, source, publication year, and more.
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(mental health)

This field will search terms from the APA thesaurus including Major Subject (MJSUB) and Identifiers (IF) the latter being uncontrolled vocabulary.   For more information about the APA thesaurus, see the section on the left hand side.
Supplemental Data SD SD(video)

The Supplemental Data field contains supplemental data or other information found either appended to the print source or available on the Internet. May appear for all publication types. Some supplemental data values may be appended with "Available" or "Internet Available." 
Test and Measure TM
TM(Wechsler intelligence scale for children).

The Tests and Measures field contains the names of both published and unpublished tests and measures used in the source document. This field may contain multiple tests or measures. To search for a record containing a particular test or measure, enter the test or measure name.