Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Trench Journals of the First World War: Searchable Fields

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Trench Journals of the First World War offers several Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title.  They are: author, publication title, unit names, unit types, unit origins and unit locations. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Search Field

Field Code

Example & Description

Anywhere  

‘war’

Anywhere searches across all the fields in the record. Anywhere will also search the background OCR text behind JPEG, Flash images, and PDFs.
Anywhere except full text NOFT

NOFT(war)

NOFT searches for keywords in the bibliographic data, citation, and abstract. NOFT does not search full text, including the text shown in article images provided in JPEG and Flash views.
Abstract AB

AB(war)

AB searches for keywords in the abstract only.
Author AU

AU(Stead, F M)

AU searches for documents written by a particular author.  Enter author names as:
Last Name, First Name
First Name Last Name
First name
Last Name
Caption CAP

CAP(LE BOULANGER)

CAP searches for keywords in image captions.
Document feature DF

DF(photographs)

DF searches for articles that contain specific features.
Document number AN

AN(20186166)

AN searches the ProQuest document ID.
Document text FT

FT(couplet)

FT searches for keywords in the background OCR text of scanned images.
Document title TI

TI(GLOIRES)

TI searches for keywords in record titles.
Document type DTYPE or AT

DTYPE(Ad)
or
AT(Ad)

DTYPE retrieves specified document types. For example, Ad, Article, Back Matter, Comic, Cover, Editorial Cartoon, Front Matter, etc.
Holding institution HIN

HIN(IWM)

HIN searches for articles from publications that are available at a specific institution.
Publication Date PD

PD(Dec 1919)
PD(Dec)

PD searches for articles published on a specific date, or within a date range.
Publication Title PUB

PUB(Baltic Bits: An Unofficial Journal of the C.M.B.'s)

PUB searches for keywords in the publication title.
Source institution SIN

SIN(IWM)

SIN searches for articles from publications that have been sourced from a particular institution for the purposes of inclusion in the database.
Unit location UL

UL(Western Front)

UL searches for articles of journals published at the specified location where the unit was stationed. The location of the unit can change over time and it might be different from the unit origin.
Unit name UN

UN(14th Battalion, Royal Montreal Regiment. Canadian Expeditionary Force)

UN searches for articles published by a specific unit.
Unit origin UO

UO(Australia)

UO searches for articles published by units originating from a particular country.
Unit type UT

UO(Artillery)

UT searches for articles published by a specific unit type. For example, Air Force, Artillery, Cavalry, Civilian, Engineers, Infantry, etc.