Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music Online: Contemporary World Music: Home

product brochure image

To Learn More about Music Online: Contemporary World Music

Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Currently included are over 269,000 albums with over 3,000,000 tracks, from over 18,000 performers and ensembles. Content includes music from six continents and 37 genres. 

You can easily find and locate music by selecting to search or browse by titles, instruments, performers/ensembles, people, cultural groups, genres, places and more. The Alexander Street interface offers tools to create playlists, edit tracks, cite the music, and share with other members of your subscribing institution. 

Music Online: American Music is part of The Music Online: Listening collection. This is the most comprehensive and highest quality streaming audio collection to support the teaching and research of music.  It currently provides academic libraries with streaming access to over 10 million tracks, and is growing monthly as new recordings are added.

All of the content in The Music Online: Listening collection is included in the Music and Dance Online collection.