Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

British Nursing Index: About

Subject Coverage

Subjects covered in British Nursing Index include:

  • Genetics
  • Dermatology and Venerology
  • Dietetics
  • Drug Abuse and Alcoholism
  • Forensic Sciences
  • Geriatrics
  • Gerontology
  • Medical Law
  • Neurology
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Oncology
  • Occupation and Careers
  • Pediatrics
  • Epidemiology
  • Psychiatry
  • Psychology
  • Public Health and Safety
  • Social Service and Welfare
  • Special Education and Rehabilitation

 

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Peer Reviewed Journals

What is ProQuest British Nursing Index?

The British Nursing Index(BNI)  is a UK nursing and midwifery database, covering UK journals and other English language titles, including international nursing and midwifery journals, as well as selective content from medical, allied health and management titles.

The database is updated monthly, and for core UK nursing and midwifery, it is the most up-to-date resource available. It is compiled by professional librarians with experience providing services to nurses and midwives and an understanding of the U.K. healthcare environment.

The British Nursing Index (BNI) is a bibliographic database that indexes the most popular English language nursing journals published primarily in the UK, with a small selection of titles from the US and Australia.  The index currently includes 700+ titles, of these over half are current files, covering all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare from 1994 to the present.  Journals covered include Nursing Times, Journal of Advanced Nursing, British Journal of Nursing, Midwifery and British Medical Journal.

BNI aims to be the premier database for the support of education, research, practice and development of nurses, midwives, health visitors and related staff. It achieves its aim through being the most current and most comprehensive in coverage of UK literature whilst still providing access to the most important of other English literature. The essence of BNI is to provide easy access for the whole nursing and midwifery community to the journal literature which is of the most relevance to them in as straightforward a manner as possible.

BNI boasts it's very own Thesaurus, an essential tool for homing in on content focussed on the UK. For further information about the thesaurus please see the xxxx

Selection Policy

Since it is the most up-to-date evidence that nurses and midwives require, BNI’s intentions is to provide access to the most current literature making records of UK titles available within a month of publication.

Some key titles include:

  • The Lancet
  • Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing
  • Australian Nursing Journal
  • British Journal of Midwifery
  • British Journal of Nursing
  • British Medical Journal
  • Canadian Nurse
  • Evidence - Based Nursing
  • Journal of Advanced Nursing
  • Journal of Palliative Care
  • Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine
  • Nursing Standard
  • Nursing Times

For a full list, please see the publication coverage box on the right hand side of the page.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: