Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Platform


The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. More on the Content page.

In addition, researchers will benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform, like the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks.

Content discovery is an integral part of the ProQuest platform’s goal of driving better research outcomes for subscribing organizations and their users. An organization's ProQuest content is discoverable through Summon and Ex Libris Primo Central. You can also link to ProQuest from Google Scholar and PubMed. When available, researchers can find and use their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings alongside their ProQuest platform database content. Similarly, Academic Video Online (AVON) subscribers can also now discover and use their video content while searching the ProQuest platform databases or even selecting to search AVON on its own within the ProQuest platform. For more information, visit the Surfacing ebooks and video content on the ProQuest Platform, Administrator Resources and Support Center Articles sections below.

Basic Search

Basic Search

Objectives of this session: Identify features that help provide effective and rapid searches; Discover options for resetting to a collection or subject areas; Locate commonly available search fields and operators. Duration: 5 minutes.


Search Strategy Tips

Objectives of this session: Incorporate search syntax into queries; Employ logical operators and proximity to focus a search query; 
Use truncation to efficiently incorporate word variations in a search. Duration: 7 minutes.

Description: This recorded session provides tips for using powerful search syntax to add precision to the search queries. Duration: 24 Minutes


Publications

Objectives of this session: Locate search components in Publications and discover specific publications of interest; Assess, track, search, or browse publications for research; Intended Audience: All users and administrators. - Duration: 5.45 minutes.

Description: This recorded session provides a quick tip on selecting and combining databases to create a targeted search. Duration: 5 Minutes


Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Objectives of this session: Locate and use easy to access searchable fields and indexes; Illustrate flexibility of Advanced Search across different collection sets; Organize searches of greater complexity and accuracy accessing Command Line and Thesaurus. Duration: 5 minutes


Thesaurus

Objectives of this session: Select thesaurus options in order to locate relevant search terms. Derive terms from ProQuest Thesaurus and apply them to a search. Evaluate and use the discipline-specific thesauri available in select ProQuest database collections. Duration: 5.50 minutes


Working with your results

Search Results

Objectives of this session: Revise results to improve content relevancy; Examine typical result items and access incorporated research aids; Organize and Manage research content. Duration: 6 minutes

Description: This recorded session provides instruction on how to create lists and bibliographies on the go from within the ProQuest platform. Duration: 5 Minutes.


Output Options

Presentation on saving and delivering the results, saving Searches and creating Alerts.


Surfacing ebooks and video content on the ProQuest Platform

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Objectives of this session: Retrieve Academic Video Online content from the ProQuest platform; Identify essential Academic Video Online features on the ProQuest platform. Duration: 4 minutes


Academic Complete (ebooks)

Objectives of this session: Retrieve Ebook Central content from the ProQuest platform; Identify essential Ebook Central features on the ProQuest platform. Duration: 4.52 minutes


Administrator Resources for the ProQuest Platform


Authentication Options and Improved Access


How to Embed a Search Link


Customizing the ProQuest Platform Interface

Objectives of this session: Adjust ProQuest platform interface settings using the ProQuest Administrator Module. Duration: 5 minutes


Branding

Objectives of this session: Brand the ProQuest interface with logos, text and links; Add widgets such as instant messaging or chat; Implement branding in prints and downloads. Duration: 3.5 minutes


Creating a Custom URL

Objectives of this session: Create specialized login links to select databases or subjects; Define settings for the custom login URLs. Duration: 4 minutes


Creating a Link to Publications

Objectives of this session: Create custom links to select publications; Make publication links accessible to searchers. Duration: 4.5 minutes


COUNTER Reports for the ProQuest Platform

Objectives of this session: Differentiate between COUNTER 4 and COUNTER 5 reports; Define key COUNTER 5 usage reports for the ProQuest platform; Create COUNTER reports using the ProQuest Administrator Module. Duration: 5.5 minutes