Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Education Collection: About

Over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education

Content

The products and collections listed below make up the Education Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.

Subjects

  • Adult education
  • Elementary education
  • Higher education
  • Home schooling
  • Secondary education
  • Special needs education
  • Teacher education

What is the Education Collection?

The Education Collection provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, in combination with the full-text Education Database. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading education journals.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the U.S. National Library of Education (NLE).

ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.  

What is the Education Database?

The Education Database gives users access to over 1,090 top educational publications, including more than 800 of the titles in full text. There are more than 2.2 million records to-date, nearly 8,000 of which are dissertations and theses. Approximately 75% of the publications included in this database are scholarly journals.

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as:

  • Childhood Education
  • College Teaching
  • Harvard Educational Review
  • Journal of Athletic Training
  • Educational Theory

Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

The Education Database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. The majority of the content spans from 1980-present, but there are earlier documents and articles included.

Many libraries that subscribe to the Education Database also have access to the ERIC database via the new ProQuest platform. This access means that searchers are able to simultaneously search both databases* for additional focus on educational research.

*Remember that searchers can select any combination of databaseses for cross-searching at any time using the list of databases in the blue toolbar at the top left of the search platform or selecting a subject area that the library has created.

ProQuest Platform Videos